PDA

View Full Version : radioheady2000 on ebay - fake AT800



pandee720
08-03-2004, 11:06 PM
I just received my armortec 800-DE from radioheady2000 and it was a fake. Here are the pics. I used the forum by ants for reference http://www.badmintonforum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=16174



Just looking at this, it looks like a genuine racquet.


Sorry for the bad quality, but the point is clear. The last 0 on 800 should have half red, half yellow inside of it.


This is a pic taken from right above. You can see that the lettering is not on the center of the shaft.


The one above is fake. The laser engraving is barely visible, and you guys can't see it but the engraving is crooked...not straight...:mad:


Some difference in the paint job. The one on left is the real one.


The shaft is longer on the fake one which is on the right. There are also glitterish stuffs on the fake one.


Sorry for the bad quality again but you can see that the fonts and the spacing of the letters are different. The one on top is fake.


The one on top is fake. It seems... plasticky (if that's even a word). The real one looks much better.


Here is the bar code on the handle.

So what should I do? Do I report this to yonex? Where do I go if I want to report? I have his address, e-mail address, etc.

pandee720
08-03-2004, 11:19 PM
oh yea, this person's in hong kong...

cooler
08-03-2004, 11:52 PM
some of the pics didnt show up :o

Feng_MP-100
08-03-2004, 11:54 PM
All pix don't show up except the last one.

cooler
08-04-2004, 12:01 AM
So what should I do? Do I report this to yonex? Where do I go if I want to report? I have his address, e-mail address, etc.
do a search on ebay fakes, bluejeff, bigredlemon, winex west can have many good posts.

cooler
08-04-2004, 12:02 AM
oh yea, this person's in hong kong...

good luck, China owns HK now

jez7375
08-04-2004, 12:12 AM
some pics appear & disappear for some reason.

On the last pic, there is another serial no. on the handle cap. Are there any other yonex that has this?

pandee720
08-04-2004, 12:58 AM
some pics don't show up? when i load it up, it does... maybe the bandwidth ran out so you just have to wait until the next day to see it since i uploaded it to geocities... they have limited daily bandwidths...
and i don't know about the serial # on the butt of the handle... i've never seen it before either...

Feng_MP-100
08-04-2004, 01:32 AM
some pics don't show up? when i load it up, it does... maybe the bandwidth ran out so you just have to wait until the next day to see it since i uploaded it to geocities... they have limited daily bandwidths...
and i don't know about the serial # on the butt of the handle... i've never seen it before either...why dont u just attach all them of to bf?

pandee720
08-04-2004, 02:57 AM
why dont u just attach all them of to bf?
you can attach to bf? i only saw the "insert image" button so i just uploaded pics onto geocities and i use links instead...

LazyBuddy
08-04-2004, 06:50 AM
On the last pic, there is another serial no. on the handle cap. Are there any other yonex that has this?

Well, I only see the fakes (AT700, Cab20, AT500, etc) have the additional serial no on the butt cap.

Muteki
08-04-2004, 11:33 AM
To make it easier for people to download.

Muteki
08-04-2004, 11:40 AM
This is indeed a high quality fake. For most newbies, this racquet looks just as real (engraved serial, shrink wrapped handle, etc.), but if you compare side to side with a real one, then you can tell the difference.

I hope you can get your money back. If not, then contact Yonex and complain about it.

LazyBuddy
08-04-2004, 11:55 AM
This is indeed a high quality fake. For most newbies, this racquet looks just as real (engraved serial, shrink wrapped handle, etc.), but if you compare side to side with a real one, then you can tell the difference.



I agree. Even experienced ppl can hardly tell (except the serial #), if not comparing with a real one side by side. :cool:

Muteki
08-04-2004, 12:16 PM
I agree. Even experienced ppl can hardly tell (except the serial #), if not comparing with a real one side by side. :cool:The sad part is even the serial follows the actual format and close enough to the actual font.

e.g., in this particular case: 4828445 220342SP (correct me if I'm wrong).

bluejeff
08-04-2004, 10:37 PM
Yeah, it really would fool people since those fakes look pretty good.
It's getting harder and harder to spot fakes nowadays... :(

By the way, it seems to me that fakes are usually only aiming for one weight for a specific model. Such as MP99 2UG3......MP100 2UG3......now, AT800 4UG4 most likely.

jez7375
08-04-2004, 10:58 PM
Maybe this is a stupid question, but have you used it yet.... or are you 'preserving' it so its original packaging is intact in case you can do something about it?

pandee720
08-04-2004, 11:14 PM
Maybe this is a stupid question, but have you used it yet.... or are you 'preserving' it so its original packaging is intact in case you can do something about it?
i don't really plan on using a "fake" since i might get my money back from him. if he gives me my money back, i can send it back the way it came to me. i already have a real AT800-OF so no need to use a fake DE...

jns_sydney
08-05-2004, 02:37 AM
Hello, I'm new to the forum.
But I shared a similar experience to Pandee, that I have bought a racket (AT-800 OF) from radioheady in Ebay. I had to wait for more than 6 weeks for it to arrive, and when it did I believe that it is also a fake. Very high quality fake , mind you, as I would never have known if I did not check this forum. Hey Pandee, how are you planning to get a refund or what action are you planning to take?

jez7375
08-05-2004, 09:48 PM
between fake and real at800, can anyone tell me what is written on the shaft? is it ultimum titanium or g-force ti? are they the same or different?

Muteki
08-05-2004, 10:25 PM
between fake and real at800, can anyone tell me what is written on the shaft? is it ultimum titanium or g-force ti? are they the same or different?On my real DE of course, one side says: "Ultra Light Weight/Head Heavy Balance/Made in Japan [Flex:Stiff] [X section:Aero *aero symbol*]

On the other side, it says: "High Modolus Graphite+Ultimum Titanium C.S. Cap"

Hope that helps

jez7375
08-05-2004, 10:50 PM
On my real DE of course, one side says: "Ultra Light Weight/Head Heavy Balance/Made in Japan [Flex:Stiff] [X section:Aero *aero symbol*]

On the other side, it says: "High Modolus Graphite+Ultimum Titanium C.S. Cap"

Hope that helps
Thanks, and i am assuming that font colour to be white, not black.

Muteki
08-06-2004, 01:48 PM
Thanks, and i am assuming that font colour to be white, not black.On my DE, the font colour is black. (The fake ones I've seen so far are white).

On OF, I believe it's white.

crazyvietboy209
08-07-2004, 06:06 PM
Can anyone tell me if these are real?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=2919&item=3692576593&rd=1

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=2919&item=3692223267&rd=1

calviny
08-08-2004, 03:40 PM
Can anyone tell me if these are real?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=2919&item=3692576593&rd=1

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=2919&item=3692223267&rd=1

I bought both of versions from this guy at LA. Because I live in LA
too, I inspected those rackets before I paid when I met him in local
gym. They are absolutely authenic. He even told me his father bought
them in Thailand, his friend brought them to him and how many he
has ...... I like those rackets very much. The best thing is that
I didn't need to pay S&H and he gave me a small discount because I
bought two.

crazyvietboy209
08-09-2004, 05:47 PM
can someone tell me the differences between the of and the de

Muteki
08-09-2004, 05:54 PM
can someone tell me the differences between the of and the de
There has been a review on AT800, so go search the forum.