View Full Version : Making my racket a bit more head heavy



TIMO1
05-27-2009, 09:47 PM
So i was bored and decided to do what my friend did to his racket.

Taped 3 layers of insulation tape on my ES108(formerly known as ES10) such that it seals up the top of the isometric frame, tape covers outer grommets and a bit of inner frame on both sides.

Did this for my Apacs Nano 900 Power as well, but this time, i tried different tape, it was insulation tape but came in a gloss finish, had 2 layers of this and one layer of the normal black ones.

Played with them last night, the Nano 900 Power was incredibly heavy, feels like 2U, smash was amazing for tension of approx 21lbs, strings have lost a bit of tension from 23lbs.

the ES108 wasn't as heavy but had a nice feel to it, well for a person who plays with head heavy rackets.

Anyone else tried this? Lets hear your feedback! :)

chewablemorphin
05-27-2009, 11:04 PM
Make the grip thinner.

TIMO1
05-27-2009, 11:07 PM
What you said, i have done already.

h4n5ip
05-27-2009, 11:38 PM
I did it with a black sticky tape. This tape is for electrical purpose. Instead of protect the frame it will give extra heavy on the head.

you can put also a lead tape; is kind of metal thing.

TIMO1
05-27-2009, 11:44 PM
Yes, insulation/electrical tape. call it what you want. :)

I didn't put it on for protection! :D

val_tamse
05-28-2009, 06:06 AM
use lead tape this is wht i use.check the guy name pro_golf_18 (http://myworld.ebay.co.uk/pro_golf_18/)http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.giffrom ebay.

Sasho
05-28-2009, 07:23 AM
use lead tape this is wht i use.check the guy name pro_golf_18 (http://myworld.ebay.co.uk/pro_golf_18/)http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.giffrom ebay.

Does it leaves any glue on the frame, after removing it :confused:

val_tamse
05-28-2009, 07:41 AM
it does but u cn easily clean it with baby wipes or just use ur thumb finger to clean it..:)

LD rules!
05-28-2009, 12:05 PM
I used this tape that cost me about 30p ($0.60) for ten metres and it is good for protecting the raceuet when picking up the shuttle repalced yesterday and no scratches on racquet great purchase

To make the racquet head heavyier add two layers of lead tape as my freind found that one layer wasn't enough and three was to much again personal preference

Babyface
05-28-2009, 02:50 PM
as above, i also lessen the grip.

TIMO1
05-28-2009, 07:36 PM
adding so much changes your racket's dynamics such as stability etc.

however, i did enjoy experimenting.. got to try this lead tape everybody speaks of.

val_tamse
05-28-2009, 08:26 PM
if ur gonna do it put it at the 12oclock of ur rcket frme if u wnt more power into ur smsh. about 2 inch on both sides.. good luck.. ill post a pic of my apcs9900power with lead tape.

val_tamse
05-28-2009, 08:35 PM
here u go lads as promise enjoy.:)

TIMO1
05-28-2009, 10:41 PM
awesome pics. but i was wondering, such a small area that you've taped, have you noticed any difference? I taped like 3 times the area of what you taped on mine :)

tony531
05-28-2009, 11:00 PM
just a question, why would you add lead tape to a HEAD LIGHT RACKET?! lol....
if you wanted a head heavy racket, why didn't you just get a head heavy racket and add tape???

val_tamse
05-29-2009, 03:11 AM
oh u cn tell the diffrence right away mte.. who said tht the 9900 power is head light?:confused:

tony531
05-29-2009, 10:35 PM
nvm...itz an apacs, not sure then

Gemcat
05-30-2009, 01:01 AM
oh u cn tell the diffrence right away mte.. who said tht the 9900 power is head light?:confused:

Yonex says so, the printing on the shaft says so, and most importantly, I say so.:D:D

But seriously, NS9900 is neither head-heavy nor head-light. It's even-balanced towards a bit head-light. Otherwise, you would be swinging it like an Armortec if it was head-heavy.

Besides, like tony mentioned, why would you add lead-tape to destroy the Nanospeed series' characteristic?

jymbalaya
05-30-2009, 01:26 AM
Yonex says so, the printing on the shaft says so, and most importantly, I say so.:D:D

But seriously, NS9900 is neither head-heavy nor head-light. It's even-balanced towards a bit head-light. Otherwise, you would be swinging it like an Armortec if it was head-heavy.

Besides, like tony mentioned, why would you add lead-tape to destroy the Nanospeed series' characteristic?

I believe that they are referring to teh APACS Nano 9900 Power.

I also agree. its kinda counter productive to buy a head light racket to make head heavy.

val_tamse
05-30-2009, 03:48 AM
Yonex says so, the printing on the shaft says so, and most importantly, I say so.:D:D

But seriously, NS9900 is neither head-heavy nor head-light. It's even-balanced towards a bit head-light. Otherwise, you would be swinging it like an Armortec if it was head-heavy.

Besides, like tony mentioned, why would you add lead-tape to destroy the Nanospeed series' characteristic?

yonex? duh:confused: are u sure ur reading it right?:D

jymbalaya
05-30-2009, 11:48 PM
Just wondering TIM01, are you willing to operate on your racket?

try opening up the butt cap, and either remove whatever is inside and/or sand the inside of the handle a bit, in order to make it head heavier.

Gemcat
05-31-2009, 12:45 AM
yonex? duh:confused: are u sure ur reading it right?:D

My mistake.:p I didn't immediately notice the "A" logo on the T-joint from the pictures. I thought I was seeing a Yonex NS9900 because you have Yonex bag and the NS9900 color theme on your Apacs Nano 9900 Power.

TIMO1
05-31-2009, 01:50 AM
Just wondering TIM01, are you willing to operate on your racket?

try opening up the butt cap, and either remove whatever is inside and/or sand the inside of the handle a bit, in order to make it head heavier.

ehh not really. but i got some old yonex rackets that i can experiment with! :D

jhirata
05-31-2009, 01:53 AM
Just wondering TIM01, are you willing to operate on your racket?

try opening up the butt cap, and either remove whatever is inside and/or sand the inside of the handle a bit, in order to make it head heavier.
That can be done on new racquets marketed as 'head-light' to 'even-balanced', but head-heavy or older racquets like AT700 and the MP100 have really hollow handles..

jymbalaya
05-31-2009, 11:39 PM
That can be done on new racquets marketed as 'head-light' to 'even-balanced', but head-heavy or older racquets like AT700 and the MP100 have really hollow handles..

i figure that because it was an ES10/ NANO900P, it would have something of the sort inside.

kaloi01
06-03-2009, 06:10 PM
where do yo guys get lead tape? is it sold at raq store?

val_tamse
06-03-2009, 06:39 PM
.............ebay

cooler
06-03-2009, 07:58 PM
Just wondering TIM01, are you willing to operate on your racket?

try opening up the butt cap, and either remove whatever is inside and/or sand the inside of the handle a bit, in order to make it head heavier.how many gram u wishes 2 add 2 ur racket?

LD rules!
06-04-2009, 02:52 PM
Any diy store should sell lead tape like for instance B&Q or home hardware

geordie
07-25-2010, 03:13 AM
Bought some medical tapes for my knee and it has since gotten better. I was left with some extra tapes. Read a few of the treads on making rackets head heavier and add one and one together. Wanted to see if I could make use of the medical tapes to increase the BP of my rackets. I did two rackets with almost the same results.

AT600 - BR 295, after 2 layers of tapes => 305 mm

Gosen Aermet 5700 - BP 293, after 2 layers of tapes => 303

Attached is a picture of the tape with the Gosen. For those in SGP, you can buy these tapes from any Watson or Guardian dryg store. They are about SGD 4 per roll (10-15 meters?). One layer will increase BP by about 5 mm.

76340

Blitzzards
07-25-2010, 03:23 AM
Bought some medical tapes for my knee and it has since gotten better. I was left with some extra tapes. Read a few of the treads on making rackets head heavier and add one and one together. Wanted to see if I could make use of the medical tapes to increase the BP of my rackets. I did two rackets with almost the same results.

AT600 - BR 295, after 2 layers of tapes => 305 mm

Gosen Aermet 5700 - BP 293, after 2 layers of tapes => 303

Attached is a picture of the tape with the Gosen. For those in SGP, you can buy these tapes from any Watson or Guardian dryg store. They are about SGD 4 per roll (10-15 meters?). One layer will increase BP by about 5 mm.
The Strappal tape you used looks thick (2.5cm width?).

It must have taken you some time to cut off the required 1cm width properly without jagged edges to fit in the racquet frame especially in lengths of 30cm.

geordie
07-25-2010, 05:05 AM
Blitzzards,

Very keen observations indeed! The Strappal tape is 4 cm thick with jagged edges for easy tearing breath wise. The tape is also very easy to tear length wise. I roll out what I need plus 2-3 cm and tape that end to a surface (table top). Using a pair of scissors, I make a small 1 cm cut in middle on one end of the tap. All I need to do is to apply a small force to separate the tape into two equal lengths of 2 cm each. I tape the racket with the jagged edge on one side and reverse that for the second layer. My handy work isn't great. I am sure some BCers here can do better.

I took less than 5 mins to do two layers on one racket. It’s cheap and the process is reversible. The tape will leave some white adhesives but those are easily removed by rubbing with your fingers. Good luck trying!

Geordie

The Strappal tape you used looks thick (2.5cm width?).

It must have taken you some time to cut off the required 1cm width properly without jagged edges to fit in the racquet frame especially in lengths of 30cm.