The New Emerging Power in World Badminton: New Threats for China!

Discussion in 'Professional Players' started by ardhitya.y, Jun 21, 2009.

1. ardhitya.y

ardhitya.y Regular Member

student
    I'm Majoring International Relations. Right Now, World Badminton do have several similarities with International relations as a science.

Nowadays, Most of Academic Literature in International Relations talk about China the new emerging power in World Affairs. They believe that it is very possible for China, with its power capability, to challenge United States as the status quo superpower. With its military and economic power, China has a lot of opportunity to be the next superpower and Challenge the United States.

I believe that World Badminton, for a long time, is a multipolar system. Indonesia, Malaysia, China, and Denmark dominated the system with their best athlete. Indonesia has its own golden age in World Badminton. Malaysia also has the same condition. But, before 21st century, the capability of those countries, i think, was in balance condition - none of them become a hegemonic power that dominates the whole world badminton.

In early 21st century, China dominates the whole system, primarily in the women sector. Nowadays China become more dangerous, when it has many women single player in a row, for example Xie Xingfang, Lu Lan, Zhu Lin, Wang Lin, Wang Yihan, Zhu Jingjing, Jiang Yan Jiao.

Wang Lin and Wang Yihan has proved that they can beat their seniors. Although Lu Lan, Zhu Lin, and Xie Xing Fang become less dangerous, another Chinese players ready to support the Chinese hegemony in women sector. In XD sector, Ma Jin become a brilliant players in the last Indonesia Open.

Unfortunately, many tournaments have proved that there are many emerging power in world badminton, both in men and women sector, and they challenge Chinese power.

Korea in MD, XD, and WD
    Malaysia, in MD and WD
    Indonesia in MD and XD