Can tennis elbow be cured?

Discussion in 'Injuries' started by txv611, May 3, 2011.

1. txv611

txv611 Regular Member

Please share with us yr experience.

How long it took for u to heal?

What treatment was administered?

Has it heal completely?

2. jilin74

jilin74 Regular Member

I once had tennis elbow from playing single-handed backhand in tennis. I stopped playing tennis and did some stretches. Now I don't feel any pain at all.

I also had some tennis elbow problem when I just started playing badminton. My overhead forehand move was not correct. The pain went away after the forehand overhead move has been corrected.

#2 jilin74, May 3, 2011
    Last edited: May 3, 2011
  3. yeeah

yeeah Regular Member

I changed my backhand stroke incorrectly and ended up fully extending when hitting. Got tennis elbow after a couple of weeks of this. Took about 6 months to fully heal after correcting my mistake and hitting light backhands during that time. Also did "tennis elbow" stretches. You can find those stretches online everywhere. Tried compression straps, didn't like them and ditched them. Sometimes, if I remember, I would rub on some pain relief cream on the joint. It didn't really help. I know some players who have had it forever and can't get rid of it, I count myself lucky. Good luck.

4. txv611

txv611 Regular Member

Thats exactly what I did too! Fully locked out on my backhand due to poor timing and techniques.

5. wlachan

wlachan Regular Member

Depends on severity, it will take at least 2 months to recover, or up to a year. It's best to stop playing until fully healed. You might also see a physio for guidance.

6. bbirdman

bbirdman Regular Member

noooo dont say that, not playing badminton for year is not good for my mental health! seriously though a sensible answer. I think though most players will play through a certain amount of pain. to sum up:

ice after any excersise that involves the forearm/elbow

ibuprofen when needed