Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

ANNOUNCEMENT : BC server downtime - June 29th, 2.45PM PDT

Discussion in 'Badminton Central Announcements' started by kwun, Jun 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,269
    Likes Received:
    539
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    what is happening: BC server will be down for a span of 4+ hours

    when is this happening: tentatively will be June 29th, 2008, 2:45PM PDT

    why is this happening: server upgrade

    who will be affected: all our dear BC members

    thanks!

    - BadmintonCentral.com Administration.
     
  2. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    THAILAND GRAND PRIX GOLD 2008: Expected MS Final between LD and BP

    .
    kwun ... Thank you for informing us.

    It's just after the Finals of the SCG THAILAND GRAND PRIX GOLD 2008.

    Perhaps the span of 4+ hours for the server backup could cool down comments for the expected MS Final between Lin Dan and Boonsak Ponsana. :D:D:D

    Cheers... chris@ccc
    :):):)
    .
     
  3. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,269
    Likes Received:
    539
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    haha. it would be cruel to shutdown the server during the finals... ;)

    we will see how it goes. if there are tons of good discussions, maybe i will postpone the downtime.
     
  4. drifit

    drifit Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,580
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    PM
    Location:
    Selangor, Malaysia
    i think it will be ok for 4 hrs.
    many will be concentrating on Euro 2008 final.........:D
     
  5. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,269
    Likes Received:
    539
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    i knew there was something genius about my timing... :D
     
  6. ctjcad

    ctjcad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,144
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    u.s.a.
    Hmm, soccer match should be over by then...

    ...9 pm, this coming Sunday night, will be 6 am Monday morning, Vienna time. The final should be over and our Pemuda should be on his way back to join all of us... ;)
    If kwun wants to shut BC down (for back up duty) and have all the football maniacs congregate, sit and enjoy the Euro 2008 Final in front of their tubbies, whilst at the same time not miss the Thai Open Finals, then it shall be done about 9 hrs. earliler (11:30 am PDT)...which i believe the TO Finals should be over also..:cool:

    Btw, i think a warning & countdown might be needed...
     
    #6 ctjcad, Jun 24, 2008
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2008
  7. Oldhand

    Oldhand Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,541
    Likes Received:
    120
    Occupation:
    Broadcast Systems Integration
    Location:
    Asia
    Ready Reckoner - International

    Here's a ready reckoner for our down-time across the world :)
    When it's 21:00 (9pm) on Sunday, 29 June for kwun, it will be:

    Sun 18:00 Honolulu
    Sun 20:00 Anchorage *
    Sun 21:00 Vancouver *
    Sun 21:00 San Francisco *
    Sun 21:00 Seattle *
    Sun 21:00 Los Angeles *
    Sun 21:00 Phoenix
    Sun 22:00 Edmonton *
    Sun 22:00 Denver *
    Sun 22:00 Guatemala
    Sun 22:00 San Salvador
    Sun 22:00 Tegucigalpa
    Sun 22:00 Managua
    Sun 23:00 Mexico City *
    Sun 23:00 Winnipeg *
    Sun 23:00 Houston *
    Sun 23:00 Minneapolis *
    Sun 23:00 St. Paul *
    Sun 23:00 New Orleans *
    Sun 23:00 Chicago *
    Sun 23:00 Montgomery *
    Sun 23:00 Lima
    Sun 23:00 Kingston
    Sun 23:00 Bogota
    Sun 23:30 Caracas
    Mon 00:00 Indianapolis *
    Mon 00:00 Atlanta *
    Mon 00:00 Detroit *
    Mon 00:00 Havana *
    Mon 00:00 Miami *
    Mon 00:00 Toronto *
    Mon 00:00 Nassau *
    Mon 00:00 Washington DC *
    Mon 00:00 Ottawa *
    Mon 00:00 Philadelphia *
    Mon 00:00 New York *
    Mon 00:00 Montreal *
    Mon 00:00 Boston *
    Mon 00:00 Santiago
    Mon 00:00 Santo Domingo
    Mon 00:00 La Paz
    Mon 00:00 San Juan
    Mon 00:00 Asuncion
    Mon 01:00 Halifax *
    Mon 01:00 Buenos Aires
    Mon 01:00 Montevideo
    Mon 01:00 Brasilia
    Mon 01:00 Sao Paulo
    Mon 01:00 Rio de Janeiro
    Mon 01:30 St. John's *
    Mon 04:00 Reykjavik
    Mon 05:00 Lisbon *
    Mon 05:00 Casablanca *
    Mon 05:00 Dublin *
    Mon 05:00 London *
    Mon 05:00 Lagos
    Mon 05:00 Algiers
    Mon 06:00 Madrid *
    Mon 06:00 Barcelona *
    Mon 06:00 Paris *
    Mon 06:00 Brussels *
    Mon 06:00 Amsterdam *
    Mon 06:00 Geneva *
    Mon 06:00 Zürich *
    Mon 06:00 Frankfurt *
    Mon 06:00 Oslo *
    Mon 06:00 Copenhagen *
    Mon 06:00 Rome *
    Mon 06:00 Berlin *
    Mon 06:00 Prague *
    Mon 06:00 Zagreb *
    Mon 06:00 Vienna *
    Mon 06:00 Stockholm *
    Mon 06:00 Cape Town
    Mon 06:00 Budapest *
    Mon 06:00 Belgrade *
    Mon 06:00 Warsaw *
    Mon 06:00 Johannesburg
    Mon 06:00 Harare
    Mon 07:00 Sofia *
    Mon 07:00 Athens *
    Mon 07:00 Tallinn *
    Mon 07:00 Helsinki *
    Mon 07:00 Bucharest *
    Mon 07:00 Minsk *
    Mon 07:00 Istanbul *
    Mon 07:00 Kyiv *
    Mon 07:00 Cairo *
    Mon 07:00 Khartoum
    Mon 07:00 Ankara *
    Mon 07:00 Jerusalem *
    Mon 07:00 Beirut *
    Mon 07:00 Amman *
    Mon 07:00 Nairobi
    Mon 07:00 Addis Ababa
    Mon 07:00 Baghdad
    Mon 07:00 Aden
    Mon 07:00 Riyadh
    Mon 07:00 Antananarivo
    Mon 07:00 Kuwait City
    Mon 08:00 Moscow *
    Mon 08:00 Dubai
    Mon 08:30 Tehran *
    Mon 08:30 Kabul
    Mon 09:00 Tashkent
    Mon 09:30 Mumbai
    Mon 09:30 New Delhi
    Mon 09:30 Kolkata
    Mon 09:45 Kathmandu
    Mon 10:00 Karachi *
    Mon 10:00 Islamabad *
    Mon 10:00 Lahore *
    Mon 10:00 Almaty
    Mon 10:00 Dhaka
    Mon 10:30 Yangon
    Mon 11:00 Bangkok
    Mon 11:00 Hanoi
    Mon 11:00 Jakarta
    Mon 12:00 Kuala Lumpur
    Mon 12:00 Singapore
    Mon 12:00 Hong Kong
    Mon 12:00 Perth
    Mon 12:00 Beijing
    Mon 12:00 Manila
    Mon 12:00 Shanghai
    Mon 12:00 Taipei
    Mon 13:00 Seoul
    Mon 13:00 Tokyo
    Mon 13:30 Darwin
    Mon 13:30 Adelaide
    Mon 14:00 Melbourne
    Mon 14:00 Canberra
    Mon 14:00 Sydney
    Mon 14:00 Brisbane
    Mon 15:00 Vladivostok *
    Mon 16:00 Auckland
    Mon 16:00 Suva
    Mon 16:45 Chatham Island
    Mon 17:00 Kamchatka *
    Mon 17:00 Anadyr *
    Mon 18:00 Kiritimati

    Please Note: Places marked with an asterisk (*) are on DST (Daylight Saving Time) or Summer Time.
     
  8. ctjcad

    ctjcad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,144
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    u.s.a.
    ^^Did you..^^

    ..cover the North Pole (Arctic) as well as the South Pole (Antartica) regions??.. :confused::cool:
     
    #8 ctjcad, Jun 29, 2008
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2008
  9. Oldhand

    Oldhand Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,541
    Likes Received:
    120
    Occupation:
    Broadcast Systems Integration
    Location:
    Asia
    cooler is the one normally inhabiting such regions.
    No fear - he is in Canada now :p

    PS: I'm bumping up the time post.
     
  10. Oldhand

    Oldhand Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,541
    Likes Received:
    120
    Occupation:
    Broadcast Systems Integration
    Location:
    Asia
    International Ready Reckoner

    With less than 24 hours to go before kwun does his upgrading magic for BC, here's a ready reckoner for our down-time across the world :)

    When it's 21:00 (9pm) on Sunday, 29 June for kwun, it will be:

    Sun 18:00 Honolulu
    Sun 20:00 Anchorage *
    Sun 21:00 Vancouver *
    Sun 21:00 San Francisco *
    Sun 21:00 Seattle *
    Sun 21:00 Los Angeles *
    Sun 21:00 Phoenix
    Sun 22:00 Edmonton *
    Sun 22:00 Denver *
    Sun 22:00 Guatemala
    Sun 22:00 San Salvador
    Sun 22:00 Tegucigalpa
    Sun 22:00 Managua
    Sun 23:00 Mexico City *
    Sun 23:00 Winnipeg *
    Sun 23:00 Houston *
    Sun 23:00 Minneapolis *
    Sun 23:00 St. Paul *
    Sun 23:00 New Orleans *
    Sun 23:00 Chicago *
    Sun 23:00 Montgomery *
    Sun 23:00 Lima
    Sun 23:00 Kingston
    Sun 23:00 Bogota
    Sun 23:30 Caracas
    Mon 00:00 Indianapolis *
    Mon 00:00 Atlanta *
    Mon 00:00 Detroit *
    Mon 00:00 Havana *
    Mon 00:00 Miami *
    Mon 00:00 Toronto *
    Mon 00:00 Nassau *
    Mon 00:00 Washington DC *
    Mon 00:00 Ottawa *
    Mon 00:00 Philadelphia *
    Mon 00:00 New York *
    Mon 00:00 Montreal *
    Mon 00:00 Boston *
    Mon 00:00 Santiago
    Mon 00:00 Santo Domingo
    Mon 00:00 La Paz
    Mon 00:00 San Juan
    Mon 00:00 Asuncion
    Mon 01:00 Halifax *
    Mon 01:00 Buenos Aires
    Mon 01:00 Montevideo
    Mon 01:00 Brasilia
    Mon 01:00 Sao Paulo
    Mon 01:00 Rio de Janeiro
    Mon 01:30 St. John's *
    Mon 04:00 Reykjavik
    Mon 05:00 Lisbon *
    Mon 05:00 Casablanca *
    Mon 05:00 Dublin *
    Mon 05:00 London *
    Mon 05:00 Lagos
    Mon 05:00 Algiers
    Mon 06:00 Madrid *
    Mon 06:00 Barcelona *
    Mon 06:00 Paris *
    Mon 06:00 Brussels *
    Mon 06:00 Amsterdam *
    Mon 06:00 Geneva *
    Mon 06:00 Zürich *
    Mon 06:00 Frankfurt *
    Mon 06:00 Oslo *
    Mon 06:00 Copenhagen *
    Mon 06:00 Rome *
    Mon 06:00 Berlin *
    Mon 06:00 Prague *
    Mon 06:00 Zagreb *
    Mon 06:00 Vienna *
    Mon 06:00 Stockholm *
    Mon 06:00 Cape Town
    Mon 06:00 Budapest *
    Mon 06:00 Belgrade *
    Mon 06:00 Warsaw *
    Mon 06:00 Johannesburg
    Mon 06:00 Harare
    Mon 07:00 Sofia *
    Mon 07:00 Athens *
    Mon 07:00 Tallinn *
    Mon 07:00 Helsinki *
    Mon 07:00 Bucharest *
    Mon 07:00 Minsk *
    Mon 07:00 Istanbul *
    Mon 07:00 Kyiv *
    Mon 07:00 Cairo *
    Mon 07:00 Khartoum
    Mon 07:00 Ankara *
    Mon 07:00 Jerusalem *
    Mon 07:00 Beirut *
    Mon 07:00 Amman *
    Mon 07:00 Nairobi
    Mon 07:00 Addis Ababa
    Mon 07:00 Baghdad
    Mon 07:00 Aden
    Mon 07:00 Riyadh
    Mon 07:00 Antananarivo
    Mon 07:00 Kuwait City
    Mon 08:00 Moscow *
    Mon 08:00 Dubai
    Mon 08:30 Tehran *
    Mon 08:30 Kabul
    Mon 09:00 Tashkent
    Mon 09:30 Mumbai
    Mon 09:30 New Delhi
    Mon 09:30 Kolkata
    Mon 09:45 Kathmandu
    Mon 10:00 Karachi *
    Mon 10:00 Islamabad *
    Mon 10:00 Lahore *
    Mon 10:00 Almaty
    Mon 10:00 Dhaka
    Mon 10:30 Yangon
    Mon 11:00 Bangkok
    Mon 11:00 Hanoi
    Mon 11:00 Jakarta
    Mon 12:00 Kuala Lumpur
    Mon 12:00 Singapore
    Mon 12:00 Hong Kong
    Mon 12:00 Perth
    Mon 12:00 Beijing
    Mon 12:00 Manila
    Mon 12:00 Shanghai
    Mon 12:00 Taipei
    Mon 13:00 Seoul
    Mon 13:00 Tokyo
    Mon 13:30 Darwin
    Mon 13:30 Adelaide
    Mon 14:00 Melbourne
    Mon 14:00 Canberra
    Mon 14:00 Sydney
    Mon 14:00 Brisbane
    Mon 15:00 Vladivostok *
    Mon 16:00 Auckland
    Mon 16:00 Suva
    Mon 16:45 Chatham Island
    Mon 17:00 Kamchatka *
    Mon 17:00 Anadyr *
    Mon 18:00 Kiritimati

    Please Note: Places marked with an asterisk (*) are on DST (Daylight Saving Time) or Summer Time.
     
  11. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,269
    Likes Received:
    539
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    as Oldhand has alluded to, this backup will be expanded to more than a backup.

    with some really good luck, i have managed to lease a new server for badmintoncentral at an incredible price.

    here is the spec for the new server:

    Dual quad-core Xeon (yes, 2x4 = 8 CPU cores!)
    Dual 15k rpm 143GB disks
    2GB Ram

    compared to our previous dual Xeon 2.8G, the new server has 4 times the cpu and 4 times the disk storage.

    and the kicker is, all these upgrade only cost $8 more per month!

    i have tested the server and it is amazingly fast.

    anyway, so tonight will be upgrade night. meanwhile, i am doing all the prep work for the actual migration.

    hopefully will see you tomorrow with a brand new and much faster server.
     
  12. ctjcad

    ctjcad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,144
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    u.s.a.
    ^^Awesome!!..^^

    ...1 million posts, here we come!..:cool:[​IMG]
     
  13. cooler

    cooler Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    22,050
    Likes Received:
    13
    Occupation:
    Surfing, reading fan mails:D, Dilithium Crystal hu
    Location:
    Basement Boiler Room
    first post after bf reboot:p
     
  14. azn_123

    azn_123 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    vancouver,canada
    Wow! That is very impressive!! Thanks Kwun.:)
     
  15. cooler

    cooler Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    22,050
    Likes Received:
    13
    Occupation:
    Surfing, reading fan mails:D, Dilithium Crystal hu
    Location:
    Basement Boiler Room
    u have waited too long azn_123:p
     
  16. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,269
    Likes Received:
    539
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    ops... the downtime just now was unintended. sorry for the brief outage...
     
  17. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,269
    Likes Received:
    539
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    apologize to those who are online. since my prep work for the server migration has been completed, and that i find there are few members online, i have decided to move the downtime earlier.
     
  18. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,269
    Likes Received:
    539
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    that was painfully long wait for the migration.

    the disruptive part is now complete. from here on there should be one more down time in a few days' time and that should be it.

    do let me know if you run into any issues.

    cheers.
     
  19. ctjcad

    ctjcad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,144
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    u.s.a.
    Any issues??..

    ..nope. Everything is lookin' smoooooth as silk...
    But learned something. The next time kwun mentioned the server down time is 9 pm PDT, he actually meant to write 12 pm (9 hrs early).. ;)[​IMG]
     
  20. drifit

    drifit Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,580
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    PM
    Location:
    Selangor, Malaysia
    :D:D:D
    unable to log in during Euro2008 final match......
    is ok......:p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page