Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Anyone knows how the call should go...

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Pball, May 15, 2005.

  1. Pball

    Pball Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    manila
    Birdie stuck on the racket.... I think a let...


    regards
     
  2. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    I would say fault

    Law 13.2.3
    It is a fault if, in play, the shuttle fails to pass the net


    BUT
    what if:
    you were playing a net kill
    you initially contact the shuttle on your side of the net
    the shuttle sticks to the racquet (e.g. broken string, cork goes through)
    your follow through pushes the shuttle over the net, followed by the racquet

    It's not a double hit
    it's almost a sling as in 13.6.1, it is caught and held but NOT slung

    so do we then get a let under 14.1.7 ?
    Let shall be called...if any unforseen or accidental situation has occurred
     
  3. Pball

    Pball Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    manila
    hmm.. I wasn't there.. but to the best of my understanding... the bird stuck featherside.

    No following up on the rule of the bird not crossing over... how about a bird stuck to net... this is a let, but the bird doesn't go over. Is my understanding right?

    Anyone...

    regards
     
  4. leehsim

    leehsim Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Singapore
    During service, it is fault as Rule 13.8
    if, on service, the shuttle is caught on the net and remains suspended on top or, on service, after passing over the net, is caught in the net.

    During play, it is let as Rule14.1.3
    a shuttle is caught on the net and remains suspended on top or, after passing over the net, is caught in the net, except on service;
     
  5. Winex West Can

    Winex West Can Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Hi Tech
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Bird stuck on racquet is a fault after all, the shuttle never did cross the net.

    For bird stuck on net, if it is on your side (i.e. did not cross over), it is a fault otherwise rule 14.1.3 applies. The reason being your opponent was not given the opportunity to do a return.
     

Share This Page