Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Are 2 persons allowed to stand in 1 box during service?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by unregistered, May 23, 2002.

  1. unregistered

    unregistered Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SinGapoRe
    People.. im unsure if 2 ppl are allowed to stand in one box during a service.. is it legal?? Not 1 foot but the whole body. When service.
     
  2. TDotSmAsHer

    TDotSmAsHer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student Gr 11 in Sept.------- badminton player/ad
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    The person serving must be in his/her box... but if I'm not wrong... I believe the other person may stand whereever he wants.
     
  3. Mag

    Mag Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Yes, yes, the partner is free to stand anywhere.
     
  4. jayes

    jayes Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Badminton specialty selling strings, grips, shuttl
    Location:
    USA
    Indeed! The non-serving partner is free to stand in any box, even in-front of the serving partner?! :eek: :D
     
  5. Nic

    Nic Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    BCBF Member
    Location:
    USA
    In fact, The non-serving partner is free to stand anywhere except in his/her opponent's court! :D
     
  6. Kevin

    Kevin Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    webmaster
    Location:
    Belgium
    or standing on the net :)
     
  7. Nanashi

    Nanashi Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    the girl in mixed stands in left side regardless of where the male partner is standing.. the partner can stand anywhere, as long as it does not obstruct the view of the server.... (the opponent's view of the server..)
     
  8. Winex West Can

    Winex West Can Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Hi Tech
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Not quite true. According to law#:

    9.7 In doubles, the partners may take up any positions which do not unsight the opposing server or receiver.

    That means the non-serving partner cannot block the receiver from seeing the server.
     
  9. jayes

    jayes Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Badminton specialty selling strings, grips, shuttl
    Location:
    USA
    You are quite astute there WWC! I was just subtlely correcting the quote directly above my reply (with humor):

    <I>Mag wrote: Yes, yes, the partner is <B>free to stand anywhere.</B></I>

    Anyway, I was also taught by my coach to only place one foot in my partner's box (allowed?) when it was our turn to serve, long time ago :)
     
  10. Nic

    Nic Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    BCBF Member
    Location:
    USA
    Not quite wrong as well.

    In double, you are allowed to stand in front of the server (your partner) as long as you are not blocking the receiver from seeing the server nor blocking the server from serving.

    IMO, as a conclusion, in double, the partner can stand anywhere and everywhere with one foot, two feet or whole body in his/her court as long as he/she doesnt block the view of the receiver and the server.
     
  11. Chu Pa

    Chu Pa Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I like to see that. :D
     
  12. Kevin

    Kevin Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    webmaster
    Location:
    Belgium
    hehe :)
    maybe here is a little trick=>
    if the other player make a lot wind with his racket the shuttle will have an effect ;)
    (i know no effects allowed in your serve :( )
     
  13. Wednesday

    Wednesday Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Legal Assistant
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Okay, you've all talked about where a partner can stand when their own partner is serving, but what about the rules for partners when RECEIVINg service? I am curious to know about this ... can someone help me out, please? Can a partner be in the box with the receiver of the service, or do they have to stand in their own box, etc.?
     
  14. GRObFURSt

    GRObFURSt Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Year 10 Student
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    why the hell would you want to do that. as soon as the non receiver touches it its a foul and you would just be getting in the way of your partner !
     
  15. Wednesday

    Wednesday Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Legal Assistant
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Okay no need to be rude now! It's just that we play against this really old guy in one of the leagues and he his this very very odd service that no matter where the receiver is standing he tries to play the shuttle over the receiver's partner's head! I dunno it's hard to describe - perhaps the question I should have asked is "is it legal for the receiver's partner to stand nearly off the court when receiving service?"

    Oh, nevermind, I'm bloody useless at this game anyway, no amounts of hints and tips will help me anyway ... thank you!
     
  16. Yong

    Yong Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    ICT consultant
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Wednesday,
    as long as the partner of the receiver does not block the view of the server,
    which will be not problem in your situation, the partner of the receiver
    is free to stand anywhere.
     
  17. Wednesday

    Wednesday Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Legal Assistant
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Thank you!

    I realise I did ask a rather silly question earlier ... but I appreciate your patience in answering anyway ... Since I'm not all that good at it anyway, perhaps I should just stick to playing for the love of the game and keeping the comments and questions to myself!! :D :D :D
     
  18. Yong

    Yong Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    ICT consultant
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Come on, don't be shy, keep writing your comments and questions :cool:
     
  19. Wednesday

    Wednesday Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Legal Assistant
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Thanks, Yong, you're really kind ... But I hope one day to grow up and be a real player (and I'm already too old!! HA HA HA HA HA). I really am in awe of the people who know loads about the game - but I find that I just don't have the time to learn ALL the rules about the game.

    I'll keep up the pretention that I can play though, and in any event, nothing will keep me from loving the sport ...

    Thanks once again
     
  20. GoD

    GoD Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    England
    I have heard that before you had to declare the service receiver at the beggining of a doubles match, it was a legal trick for both players to stand in the receiving box and whomever the shuttle went to they could play the shot making it harder for the serving teams next shot. Unfortunately the laws changed and that is no longer possible.
     

Share This Page