Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Badminton Law FAULTs No. 13.3.7 & 13.3.8

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Temasek Green, Aug 3, 2007.

  1. Temasek Green

    Temasek Green Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Singapore
    Can anyone give more clear example or explanation of fault rule no. 13.3.7
    & 13.3.8 start from..However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area
    of the racket in one stroke shall not be a ‘fault’;

    FAULTS
    13.3.7
    is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke;

    13.3.8
    is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area
    of the racket in one stroke shall not be a ‘fault’;
     
  2. illusionistpro

    illusionistpro Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    www.badstrings.com
    13.3.7 refers to catching the shuttle is whatever manner with your racket (held) and then thrown or whatever (slung), this wont really happen unless youre trying. Just like the 2nd law you asked about, its pretty much when you dont strike the shuttle cleanly.

    13.3.8 refers to what most of us would call a dink or a frame shot. Like before its when you dont strike the shuttle cleanly.

    hope this helps, always nice to know the rules before you play
     
  3. silentheart

    silentheart Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,366
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Think of it as what is your intension. A good example for 13.3.7 is a net shot that racquet rise slowly and you actually see the shuttle stop on the string bed. Your intension is to carry the shuttle over the net. Not bonce or hit the shuttle.
    An example for 13.3.8 is during a sharp angle slice, the shuttle head contact the string bed first and hit the frame again a millisecond later. Do you intend to hit the frame? It is an accident shot.
     
  4. SystemicAnomaly

    SystemicAnomaly Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    independently unwealthy, part-time tennis instruct
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    The fault described in 13.3.7 refers to a shuttle that is essentially caught on the stringbed and then thrown. When a shuttle is "caught", it stays on the strings for a relatively long time -- something like a half second or so. This type of fault happens with novice players, occasionally, whose strokes have not yet matured. Quite often a novice does not hit the shuttle cleanly. The slinging of the shuttle sometimes occurs as a result of this.

    Every once in a great while, a more advanced player might commit this type of fault -- slinging the shuttle. The shuttle leaves the racket in an unexpected direction when this occurs. A non-novice player can also intentionally sling a shuttle -- this is done when fooling around during practice sessions, not when playing competitive matches.

    Law 13.3.7 refers to a shuttle that is "double hit" Most double hits hit by a single player are actually legal.

    An example of an illegal double hit is performed by a player when they actually take 2 swings at the shuttle & hit it both times before it is returned to the other side -- "hitting the shuttle twice in succession". This is the primary type of fault addressed by this law.

    An illegal double hit also occurs when both players on a doubles team touch (hit) the shuttle before it is returned to the other side -- sometimes one player barely touches the shuttle before (or after) their doubles partner hits the shuttle. However this type of double hit is not addressed by this law.
     
  5. SystemicAnomaly

    SystemicAnomaly Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    independently unwealthy, part-time tennis instruct
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    The fault described in 13.3.7 refers to a shuttle that is essentially caught on the stringbed and then thrown. When a shuttle is "caught", it stays on the strings for a relatively long time -- something like a half second or so. This type of fault happens occasionally with novice players whose strokes have not yet matured. Quite often a novice does not hit the shuttle cleanly. The slinging of the shuttle sometimes occurs as a result of this.

    Every once in a great while, a more advanced player might commit this type of fault -- slinging the shuttle. The shuttle leaves the racket in an unexpected direction when this occurs. A non-novice player can also intentionally sling a shuttle -- this is done when fooling around during practice sessions, not when playing competitive matches.

    Law 13.3.7 refers to a shuttle that is "double hit" Most double hits hit by a single player are actually legal.

    An example of an illegal double hit is performed by a player when they actually take 2 swings at the shuttle & hit it both times before it is returned to the other side -- "hitting the shuttle twice in succession". This is the primary type of fault addressed by this law.

    An illegal double hit also occurs when both players on a doubles team touch (hit) the shuttle before it is returned to the other side -- sometimes one player barely touches the shuttle before (or after) their doubles partner hits the shuttle. However this type of double hit is not addressed by this law.
     
  6. Temasek Green

    Temasek Green Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Singapore
    Thanks to all, that answered my doubt, i got a clear view now and some legal point incase such fault occurs to explain to my team mates.I paste all the three comments for references (in notepad) in the my Law Of badminton folder.
     
  7. silentheart

    silentheart Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,366
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    USA

Share This Page