Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Badminton posts ricochet

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by victorgabriel1, Oct 25, 2012.

Tags:
  1. victorgabriel1

    victorgabriel1 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    So I had an argument with one of my club-mates a few weeks ago...he said that if the shuttle hits the post and ricochets off and falls in (considering the shuttle hits the post over the net height), it would be considered as in play. Is this correct?:confused:
     
  2. rattos

    rattos Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK lor
    no if it touches the poll or any other exterior objects it is a fault
     
  3. phili

    phili Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    If the shuttle touches anything but the racket it is considered a fault.
     
  4. krysser

    krysser Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    @Home
    @victorgabriel1:
    Not quite right the posts are considered a part of the net, so as long as the shuttle passes over the net the shuttle is considered in play. Ie. it is not a fault.
    It actually doesn't matter which part of the post it hits, as long as it passes over the net afterwards.
     
  5. rattos

    rattos Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK lor
    sorry if i confused anyone i reread the laws and seems i imagined that rule, kryssler got it right :D
     
  6. victorgabriel1

    victorgabriel1 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    WELL...thats wicked

    Thanks all for your answers !
     
  7. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    United States
    What krysser said is correct. The post is considered to be part of the net, and as long as the shuttle crosses over the net, even if it hits the post, shall be considered in play...With I believe one exception (which I'm not sure about, us umpires like to come up with all the unlikely possibilities)

    which is, if the post is higher than 5' 1" (in some gyms that do not have official posts) and it hits off the top inner part of the post and bounces in. If that were to happen, it would be up to the referee if one is present.


    I think I made this more confusing for you all haha.
     
  8. gundamzaku

    gundamzaku Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    working professional
    Location:
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    never knew that, tho it never happened to me yet, but it's good that we know for future reference!!!
     

Share This Page