Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Badminton rule dispute

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by AllisterBrimble, Sep 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AllisterBrimble

    AllisterBrimble New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
    Hi

    I have recently had an argument with a friend about a shot that he played.
    He hit the shuttle around the side of post, 2 feet under the height of the net and the shuttle landed in.

    Is this legal?

    Thanks in advance
    Allister

    www.badmintonexeter.co.uk
     
    #1 AllisterBrimble, Sep 15, 2005
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2005
  2. Jinryu

    Jinryu Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Librarian, RacketsportsMontreal.ca owner
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/badminton-central/content/view/82/56/1/11/





    13. FAULTS

    It is a ‘fault’:

    13.2 if in play, the shuttle:

    13.2.3 fails to pass the net;

    That shot is not legal-- even if he accidentally hit a bird that was going out, it has to cross over the net for it to be considered within bounds i beleive. I was looking for a better phrased part of the rules but this was the best I could find.
     
  3. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,380
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    The shot is legal. Nothing in the laws contradicts it.

    It did not fail to pass the net. It passed the net from the side. There is a specific rule against passing the net underneath (or through), but not from the side.

    It's your own fault for hitting the shuttle wide. If your shot had been going in, he could never have passed the post.
     
  4. AllisterBrimble

    AllisterBrimble New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Exeter, UK

    That's two different answers on this forum now. Anyone else??
     
  5. silentheart

    silentheart Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,214
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    It is legal. It is also legal for all other sports uses a net to devide the court.
     
  6. txyu

    txyu Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Manager Fitness Facility
    Location:
    Back in Sudbury, ON
    two feet under the net and around the side of the post and it's Legal? :eek:

    Who would argue that?

    Personally, I wouldn't bring out a rule book just to argue that point...If I hit that shot, I'd concede the rally...If I was on the receiving end of that shot and they insisted it's legal...I'd do the same thing back to them so see how they like it

    Otherwise, people would be hitting shots that were obviously out, around the post, as low as possible to get a cheap point
     
  7. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    errrrr :confused:
    if it's obviously out, then it doesn't come any cheaper than not hitting it and letting it land out
     
  8. silentheart

    silentheart Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,214
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    1) why he hitting it if it is out? it is his point already. it is not a cheap point. what if the shuttle does not land inside of the line? it become your point.
    2) why do you give up a point just because the other person does not know the rule?
    3) anything that does not specificly defined as fault in the rule book is legal untill ibf change the rule (s-serve is a good example).
     
  9. txyu

    txyu Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Manager Fitness Facility
    Location:
    Back in Sudbury, ON
    it's not where it's hit but rather how it went over is my point

    From the original post, with some modifications and some exaggerations

    I hit a shot that was clearly out and over onto the adjacent court
    My opponent then ran towards it and hit the shuttle when it was about an inch off the ground
    He hit a drive shot so it flew nice and low about 1/2 inch above the ground
    It flew under the adjacent courts net (meaning still outside the posts of our court) and landed on our court, my side, and in

    and that's legal?

    Once again, not where the person hit the bird but the route the shuttle took to land in

    Am I interpreting this original post wrong?
     

    Attached Files:

    #9 txyu, Sep 15, 2005
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2005
  10. Quan

    Quan Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    BP(Badminton Player)
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    i remember an episode of prince of tennis where kaido uses the boomerang snake in badminton... the bird went around the post and landed in... but the shot was called out... maybe this'll help.
     
  11. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    yep

    I don't think so
     
  12. bigredlemon

    bigredlemon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    T.O.
    What if the net is very old and there is a large hole present. A person hits the bird through that hole to the other side where it lands in. According to the previous interpretation of "fails to pass the net", this would not be fault!?
     
  13. DarthHowie

    DarthHowie Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    37
    Occupation:
    Software Developer & Assistant Coach @ GBC
    Location:
    Toronto & Vancouver, Canada
    off-topic:
    His shot was called in.. If you want..i can track down the episode number. He pulled this shot off when playing both singles and doubles (with Inui).

    on-topic:
    I'd count the point, but why would your opponent hit it in the first place if it was clearly wide and out (that's the only way i can see this shot being pulled off)?
     
  14. AllisterBrimble

    AllisterBrimble New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
    To clarify, it went at the angle you showed in the diagram but at 1 or 2 feet below net height.

    Allister

     
  15. silentheart

    silentheart Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,214
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    No, this is a fault and you know it. This is a totally different subject.
     
  16. txyu

    txyu Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Manager Fitness Facility
    Location:
    Back in Sudbury, ON
    There are times, you just don't know where you are on court and are just running and swinging...I exaggerated my explanation to make sure I was clear on my interpretation of things
     
  17. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    13.2.2
    It is a fault if in play the shuttle passes through or under the net
     
  18. LazyBuddy

    LazyBuddy Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    10,222
    Likes Received:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    New York, US
    Even if it's clearly below the net height? :eek:
     
  19. txyu

    txyu Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Manager Fitness Facility
    Location:
    Back in Sudbury, ON
    I guess it's interpretation of the rules then

    I think although it passed the side of the net, it still is "under" the net

    What if it was inside the poles? (some gyms the poles are 2-3 feet away from the sidelines)
    Does pole location determine the length of the "net" and how this shot is interpreted?
     
  20. ribroy

    ribroy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    I would be quite happy for an opponent to hit one of my shots that is obviously out of bounds - thus giving me another chance to win the point.

    I think that if the off court shot was a foul - net posts would continue much higher to spot "around the net fouls".

    2.2 Where it is not practical to have posts on the side lines, some method must be used to indicate the position of the side lines where they must pass under the net, e.g., by the use of thin posts or strips of material 11/2" (40mm)wide,fixed to the side lines and rising vertically to the net cord
     
    #20 ribroy, Sep 15, 2005
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2005
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page