Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Badminton rules for serving

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by MarcRafles, Oct 20, 2003.

  1. MarcRafles

    MarcRafles Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all, I want to know about the rule (IBF) for serving.
    I served (single play), the birdie flew, touched the top of net a little (not stuck), landed on the opponent field rightly. My opponent said, my serve was false.

    Is what he said true or not according to IBF's rule?

    Thanks in advance.

    Marc
     
  2. Mikell

    Mikell Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    It is a good serve!!!
     
  3. MarcRafles

    MarcRafles Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Germany
    Well, it is not the matter of good or bad :)
    Is it officially allowed? or is it considered as false?

    Marc
     
  4. woop.

    woop. Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedford, UK
    Do you mean is it a legal serve? If so it certainly is. There is no way someone can claim otherwise. The shuttle can always touch the net as it crosses, it's just you and your racquet that must not.
     
  5. cappy75

    cappy75 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,509
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Depot Support Representative
    Location:
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Heh! Now if only you could repeat that serve on a fair basis, you're on your way to professional:p Service shot is valid as long as you served it right and it landed on the opponent's receiving area (service line included). As far as I am concerned, having the shot touch the net while landing right is the best short service one can do.
     
  6. LazyBuddy

    LazyBuddy Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    10,243
    Likes Received:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    New York, US
    It's a 100% legal serve according to the rule. Badminton is different than tennis, if such serve in tennis, it will be a fault.
     
  7. Kennyb

    Kennyb Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    London UK
    Sounds asthough your opponent doesn't really know the proper rule of serving in badminton and uses the tennis rule of serving if you ask me...
     
  8. MarcRafles

    MarcRafles Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Germany
    THANK YOU ALL!

    OK, I am sure now, that I am right and my serve is legal (and good :D). Thank you very much to all of you.
    Hmm.. but how can I close this thread?
     
  9. shiriblue

    shiriblue Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Fremont, SJSU, USA
    Re: Re: Badminton rules for serving

    technically if it lands into the service box, you get 2 serves again, but if it lands outside the box then its a fault
     
  10. Tomsk

    Tomsk Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Re: THANK YOU ALL!

    Only the moderators and admin can close a thread.

    You can silince your critics with a copy of the Laws of Badminton

    Download from http://www.intbadfed.org/Portal/desktopdefault.aspx?tabid=31

    I always keep a printed copy in my bag to settle disputes. (Except for for the two hits, one stroke is NOT a fault! ;) )
     
  11. bigredlemon

    bigredlemon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    T.O.
    Umpires and refrees typically refer to an act as "good" if it is legal and "bad" if it is illegal or a fault.
     
  12. digler_78

    digler_78 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Legal Serve

    I want to raise another question regarding the short backhand serve.

    According to the IBF the shuttle must be struck below waist height. Can someone tell me what is classed as waist height?
    I have heard people mention that "legally" waist height is the bottom point of your bottom rib (feel if your not sure where I mean!)? However, I find the IBF rules to be very vague about this and I am now somewhat confused.

    Obviously if it is the higher point (the rib) then you stand to gain a slight advantage in that the shuttle can travel at a lower arc???!

    Any thoughts?????????
     
  13. Dill

    Dill Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Lazy git (my coach can verify this)
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    If you want to close the thread just talk about politics or religion ;)

    Works every time :D
     
  14. digler_78

    digler_78 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Serving

    well Dill being as you seem to be the only person looking at this thread have you got any thoughts on my previously posted question??????? :confused:
     
  15. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    The Law regarding the waist is vague.
    The dictionary definition of the waist is the area between the ribs and the hips.

    I'm sure this has been discussed in other threads, and I think no conclusion was reached regarding ther waist.
    It has been said, though, that service judges estimate the legal height by using the serving players elbow as a guide.
    i.e. the height of the elbow when the arm is hanging down by your side.
     
  16. digler_78

    digler_78 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Thanks Neil, I struggled to find anything very relevant on other threads but then i am new to this so maybe i was looking in the wrong place!?
    From what you have said though, does that mean that as long as the other serving criteria are met, i.e. head below hand, upwards motion etc that it would be hard for a judge to call a fault on a serve? :confused:
     
  17. Dill

    Dill Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Lazy git (my coach can verify this)
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    SPOT ON !!!!!

    The bottom rib is classed as the waist in badminton and falls in line with the elbow.

    As Neils points out you should stand and gauge where it is for you.
     

Share This Page