Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Badminton Rules: What is out of bounds?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by queefer, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. queefer

    queefer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    Hi, I'm doing a project on "What is considered out of bounds" in badminton. I know if the birdy lands outside of the lines or touches the ceiling it is out, but what else is considered out of bounds?

    Thanks!
    josh
     
  2. Gade.Fan

    Gade.Fan Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    I guess hitting into / under the net could be considered out, or if it lands on your own side of the net (if you're hitting it)
     
  3. Dave18

    Dave18 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Toronto
    I think those are the only reasons. Lol.
     
  4. Whitewasp

    Whitewasp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    also if it hits you on the body the rally is over
     
  5. Normand

    Normand Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    other instances

    On the service if it is before the service line or beyond the first line (double) or if you miss the shuttle. Also a double touch (hitting twice but not in the same sequence). In double if you're partner touches the shuttle before you do (when it's coming from the opponent) or you're partner touching it after you hit it and it's going to the opponent side. hitting the shuttle while it's still on the opponent side.

    if I come up whit more I'll let you know
     
  6. Tsumaranai

    Tsumaranai Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    In your mind
    Well, no, if you "completely" miss the shuttle during your serve, then it's a redo. But if you touch it and it either doesn't go over the service line on the opponent's side, goes into the back alley(into the side alley in singles), beyond the service box, or hits the net, then it's an out.
     
  7. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    This is completely wrong.

    The relevant law says:

    "9.3 It is a ‘fault’ if the server, in attempting to serve, misses the shuttle."

    All you have to do is read the laws which can be found on this site.
     
  8. Tsumaranai

    Tsumaranai Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    In your mind
    Ok, well, sorry, then. Man.., if we're not playing by the rules, then what are we playing... I've been going by my Highschool [District] League rules, so..., don't mind me anymore...:confused:
     
  9. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Then you are not playing badminton. There is only one set of laws for badminton. Perhaps some dodgy interpretations have grown up in your neck of the woods.
     
  10. Tsumaranai

    Tsumaranai Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    In your mind
    I'm guessing the rules are modified for Highschool, and that we're still using the old scoring system, so you can't yell at us for that. ^_^
     
  11. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    The "old" scoring laws are still the official ones. The experimental ones are only for certain international events until they are officially adopted.

    I don't see why a high school would need to change the serving laws. It would mean that players would not fit into competitive badminton elsewhere very well.
     
  12. serviceover

    serviceover Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Logistics
    Location:
    Germany
    What other "modified" rules do you have? Can you serve above your head? If so, your playing tennis not badminton :D
     
  13. Tsumaranai

    Tsumaranai Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    In your mind
    No......, as far as I know, we don't let the shuttles bounce.(sarcasm, if you didn't happen to catch it) -.-
     

Share This Page