Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Badminton Rules

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Wonger8, Sep 22, 2006.

  1. Wonger8

    Wonger8 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Burnaby
    Hello everyone, i'm kinda ify on the badminton rules and i was just wondering on one specific badminton rule; when hitting the shuttle at the net, is it that ur not allowed to swing and then hit the net or is it that you're not allowed to hit over the net?

    Any replies would be great!
     
  2. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,285
    Likes Received:
    552
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    when the rally is in progress, in no circumstances shall you or your racket touch the net.

    you are allowed to follow through to the other side of the net, given that the contact point is on your side.
     
  3. quik_silver

    quik_silver Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Toronto,Ontario
    What happens if the strings from the racquet breaks during a rally? Are you a llow to stop the rally or the rally must continue?
     
  4. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,285
    Likes Received:
    552
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    no. if your equipment fails during the rally, it is no one else but your fault. the rally should not be halted as a result.
     
  5. quik_silver

    quik_silver Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Toronto,Ontario
    Thanks for the clarification kwun. I always thought you are allow to stop the rally due to equipment failures.
     
  6. tir168

    tir168 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Uni Student
    Location:
    Brunei
    so either your partner can win that point without you or you lose the point during equipment failure ;)
     
  7. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Or you dash off court and get a replacement.
     
  8. setaa

    setaa Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    toronto
    haha for real? is that allowed?
     
  9. LazyBuddy

    LazyBuddy Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    10,222
    Likes Received:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    New York, US
    Yes. Tony did that in US Open before, I think. :rolleyes:
     
  10. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,285
    Likes Received:
    552
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    actually, that's strictly speaking not allowed.

    you are not allowed to leave the court (off-court) vicinity without the umpire's permission.

    however, you can always put a good racket ready next to the court, then you can grab it while you are still inside the court.

    read the rules for more detailed information.
     
  11. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Yes it is allowed, strictly speaking or otherwise. You may grab a racquet that is at courtside during a point (and you do not have to saty within the court's lines to do so), but you need the umpire's permission at any other time. In the laws:

    "16.5.2 No player shall leave the court during a match without the umpire’s permission, except during the intervals as described in Law 16.2. "

    and in "Recommendations to Technical officials" (which are the WBF's instructions to umpires and other officials) it says:

    "3.5.4.2 Any offending side may have to be reminded that leaving the court needs the umpire’s permission (Law 16.5.2). If necessary, Law 16.7 shall be applied. However, change of a racket at courtside during a rally is permitted. "
     
  12. lspbliss

    lspbliss Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    I remembered seeing a men doubles rally featuring Koo Kien Kiat and Chan against their opponents in the Singapore Open 2006. During the rally, Koo's racquet string snapped and realising that, he virtually dashed out of the court, grabbed his backup racquet leaving his partner to handle the situation for a second or two and continued the rally in almost real time!! Couldn't recall if they managed to savage that point or not but Koo did managed to return a shot. I was amazed by his reaction after I came to realise what was going on later.
     
  13. quik_silver

    quik_silver Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Toronto,Ontario
    But I was wondering, do professional players break their strings or racquets often. So far I haven't seen any racquet failures ever since I started to watch badminton matches. :confused:
     
  14. setaa

    setaa Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    toronto
    i think taufik once broke 3 strings in a game. i think on wc '05 forgot which match though
     
  15. wirre

    wirre Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uppsala, Sweden
    In a swedish championship I watched a MD where one of the pairs managed to break the strings on all of their rackets in the same game:eek: They had 3 each.....ended up with them having to borrow rackets from some of the spectators (juniors in the club) to finish the match. And then it was a rush to the stringing machine before the next round later in the day :D

    One reason you personally haven't seen any failures, at least not when pro players involved, might be that they have several identical rackets. So unlike us poor amateurs they don't have to play with old worn strings (or rackets). They can change to another racket long before any string/racket breakage. And most probably they will have any racket used during the day to be restringed if advancing to the next days play. Probably a luxury only professionals (or at least national championship level) can afford.
     
  16. Tomsk

    Tomsk Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    One exception.
    From the rules somewhere - If the shuttle head seperates from the base then it's a let.
    However nothing in the rules about the net or the net posts collapsing during a rally.....
     
  17. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Well, law 14 says "It is a let if ...

    14.2.5 in the opinion of the umpire, play is disrupted or a player of the opposing side is distracted by a coach;

    ...

    or 14.2.7 any unforeseen or accidental situation has occurred. "

    Doesn't that cover the situation of a collapsed net post?
     
  18. Alaric

    Alaric Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Essex, England
    In the final of the mixed doubles of the Danish open in 2004, Nathan Robertson broke the string on all his racquets and even all of Gail Emms' spare racquets. :crying:

    I think one of the coaches went off to try and get some re-strung for him, but they didn't get back in time before he broke the last one. In the end one of the officials put some Yonex racquets near his bag and he ended up having to use one of those.

    In view of the fact that's he's sponsored by Carlton I should imagine that they weren't very pleased with him. It was really funny though watching him on the court trying to hide the Yonex logo! :D

    By the way, does anyone know which tournament it was when KKK had to leave the court to get a new racquet? I would love to see that! :)
     

Share This Page