Best players without a major

Discussion in 'Professional Players' started by latecomer, Jan 12, 2013.

1. latecomer

latecomer Regular Member

selfemploy
    Does a list of best players without a major exist?

2. fauci

fauci Regular Member

Bao Chunlai, Chen Hong, Lee Hyun-il, Lee Chong Wei, Peter Gade

3. AlanY

AlanY Regular Member

please add my name on it

4. phili

phili Regular Member

What do you consider major? Olympics? WC? SS? GPG? Any international title?

5. latecomer

latecomer Regular Member

selfemploy
    I am fairly new to the game of badminton, just recently converted from playing golf to badminton, I wish I had discovered badminton earlier, that why I do not have adequate knowledge to identify which events qualify as majors. In golf, there are 4 majors, the conversation of who are the best players never won a major comes up all the time, that why I am wondering is a list existed in badminton too. A major is I believe is every player desperate wanting to win. Like Tiger Wood, he does not care about other tournaments except the 4 majors. His season would consider a failure if he does not win anyone of those even finish in 2nd place. With badminton I can only think of 3, world championship, olympic and all england.

6. twobeer

twobeer Regular Member

computer
    In badminton there are 5 tournaments / year that have premier status on the tour. Korean Open, All-England, Indonesia Open, Denmark Open and China Open. These are the most prestigeous tournaments apart from Olympics and World Championships (both individual and Team WCs) that all players prioritize for the medal and pride.

7. renbo

renbo Regular Member

I know that for the chinese players, and public alike, the team competition (uber, thomas and surdiman cups) are much more important then the all england or any other open. I would guess the same is true for malaysians and indonisians.

8. limsy

limsy Regular Member

kuli
    yup.
    add my name too.