Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Bird stuck on top of the net

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by bigying, May 13, 2013.

  1. bigying

    bigying Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    ERP Consultant
    Location:
    SF
    if the shuttle somehow gets stuck on the top of the net, can the receiving team strike it?
    what if the shuttle is leaning more on the other side of the receiving team, can the receiving team come over the net to strike it?
    if the shuttle is stuck there "forever", is this a let (replay)? does it matter which side the shuttle leans toward?
     
  2. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    Occupation:
    Cylon
    Location:
    BadmintonCentral
    A very good question!!

    i think LD did that before. The umpire called let. I don't know if it is the correct call though.
     
  3. craigandy

    craigandy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    UK
    It shall be a let if
    14.2.3 after the service is returned, the shuttle is:
    14.2.3.1 caught on the net and remains suspended on its top, or
    14.2.3.2 after passing over the net is caught in the net;

    If the receiving team strike it off the top of the net quick enough before the umpire sees that it is stuck and calls let, then yes you can whip it off(although technically that is cheating but who knows if it was going to stay stuck if it is hit fast enough). The point of contact of the shuttle can not be on your opponents side so no you can't come over the net to strike it.(although if contact is made on your side your racket can follow through onto the opposing court)
     
    #3 craigandy, May 13, 2013
    Last edited: May 13, 2013
  4. bigying

    bigying Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    ERP Consultant
    Location:
    SF
    in that case, what is defined as "contact"? can i (if i was the receiving team) just push the shuttle over from my side of the net to the other side?
     
  5. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    you cannot 'catch' the shuttle either so it depends what you mean by 'push'.
     
  6. kaki!

    kaki! Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    South Bay
  7. craigandy

    craigandy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    UK
    oops liked your post by mistake. Contact is when the string bed makes contact with the shuttle. No you can't push it, you would have to graze it whilst making your stroke.

    By graze i mean something like what LCW does at 16 seconds
    [video=youtube;482ufYUa5Ns]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=482ufYUa5Ns[/video]
     
    #7 craigandy, May 13, 2013
    Last edited: May 13, 2013
  8. Mark A

    Mark A Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6,257
    Likes Received:
    131
    Occupation:
    Warehouse dogsbody, Stringer, Panda reseller,
    Location:
    St Helens, UK
    Here's one:

    [video=youtube;4cRN8atW-wM]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cRN8atW-wM[/video]

    00:10.
     
  9. weingok

    weingok New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    you cannot 'catch' the shuttle either so it depends what you mean by 'push'.[​IMG]
     
  10. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    Occupation:
    Cylon
    Location:
    BadmintonCentral
    the reaction by the service judge was interesting.... :)
     

Share This Page