Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Blowing the shuttle during a rally

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Boonbeng, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. Boonbeng

    Boonbeng Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Life's good
    Location:
    Chinatown
    So I watched the Copenhagen match between LD and PG, and I saw LD blowing the shuttle right in front of him when he predicted it was out. (and he made it pretty obvious through his body language... if his head was closer he would end up kissing the birdie) Not sure it'll affect the flight of the shuttle much but I wanna know if it's legal.
     
  2. Cycril

    Cycril Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    -
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    maybe he is just exhaling :p
     
  3. **KZ**

    **KZ** Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    14
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Malacca, M'sia
    he is just trying to entertain the crowd...its exhibition match...why so serious?
     
  4. gundamzaku

    gundamzaku Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    working professional
    Location:
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    i think the OP was just using this particular match as an example, but i wonder about that, i would think it's illegal, especially if it was a net shot and both players are actually really close at net and one just blows at the shuttle, i would think it's illegal, but then it would be hard to prove it???
     
  5. gundamzaku

    gundamzaku Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    working professional
    Location:
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    i think the OP was just using this particular match as an example, but i wonder about that, i would think it's illegal, especially if it was a net shot and both players are actually really close at net and one just blows at the shuttle, i would think it's illegal, but then it would be hard to prove it???
     
  6. **KZ**

    **KZ** Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    14
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Malacca, M'sia
    not sure....would be hard to prove but i doubt in an important match players would have enough time to do such a thing
     
  7. blableblibloblu

    blableblibloblu Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Canada
    actually itd be easy to make short serves too short by blowing on them but then again, I'm sure there's a rule that prevents players from doing it
     
  8. krysser

    krysser Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    @Home
    Well there is no specific rule that prevent blowing on the shuttle, but a umpire could actually use rule 16.6.4 to prevent such things.

    Rule 16.6.4 : A player shall not be guilty of misconduct not otherwise covered by the Laws of Badminton.
     
  9. Pakito

    Pakito Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    service consultant
    Location:
    Ipoh
    LOL, if you want to blow your opponent's netting back to his court, so vice versa, you also would want to blow your own tight netting if you could foresee your netting falling short of the tape. In general, this practice is a waste of time, especially when you are already tired from all those long rallies, it's much better to save your oxygen tank than to waste it on huff and puff. Large effort, puny results. Not to mention it's illegal and really unprofessional.
     
  10. ronaldindin

    ronaldindin Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    pj
    Can blowing on the shuttle really change the direction? For me I'll take it as a way to entertain the crowd. No big deal about it
     
  11. vixter

    vixter Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    Hahaha, you think it'd be easy? I'd like to see one returner have enough time to
    1: judge the incoming shuttle as close of being too short
    2: massive inhale
    3: adjust mouth position to be just in front of the shuttle
    4: massive blow while adapting mouth position to always be just in front of the shuttle

    Because surely your mouth would have to be just in front of the shuttle for the blow to actually have an effect. The shuttle is light but it's not like it's light as a feather. Sometimes though when the shuttle falls on the net and rests there for a second, one of my club mates blow on it for fun to make it go over. In this situation I actually think there could be a chance to effect the outcome. I doubt it's illegal though, I guess there is no rule.
     
  12. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    PanAm Umpire
    Location:
    California, United States
    I tried blowing an ant off a table not too long ago. It didn't even budge. I don't think blowing a shuttle will really have an effect. You are free to waste your energy and breath trying to blow it and tell me the results.
     
  13. blableblibloblu

    blableblibloblu Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Canada
    huh a friend and I tried it a few months ago and he was able to make it fall short
     
  14. rogerv2

    rogerv2 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KL, Malaysia
    Shuttles have larger surface area than ants. We all know about the breeze effecting shuttle flight. So this is entirely plausible. My friend did it once when the shuttle landed on top of the tape and made it fall over my side. I was pissed since it was not a very sporting thing to do irrespective of whether it caused the shuttle to fall over or not.
     
  15. gundamzaku

    gundamzaku Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    working professional
    Location:
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    well you should have gone for the net kill and as a result hitting his face, then call fault on him for getting his face in the path of the swing of your racket....point to you, simple!
     
  16. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    10
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Blowing the shuttlecock

    .
    There is no mention (in the BWF Laws of Badminton) that we cannot blow the shuttlecock; therefore do it if you think you can get an advantage. :):):)
    .
     
  17. fauci

    fauci Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Slum
    Lin Dan did that last year in the German Open final against Simon Santoso. Lin Dan was leading by many points and he apparently did that to entertain the crowd, but the shuttle landed in and the umpire didn't call it a foul.
     

Share This Page