Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Cab-10 Tour alternative?

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by ukwomble, Feb 1, 2006.

1. ukwomble

ukwomble New Member

Hello all,

I've been using a Carbonex 10 Tour for several years now, and I'm very happy with it. Very manouverable and good control. BG-65 string.

My "backup" (ex primary) is a Ti-5 - one of the original ones - which I now despise. It has more power, but I find it extremely lacking in feel and precision, especially when defending. Like playing with a wooden pole. When the strings break on my cab10 I am really in trouble :)

Prior to this I had a Ti-6 Long (until someone whacked it), but thats so long ago and my play has changed so much since then that I can't really comment on it.

I'm looking for some recommendations on a backup / second racquet. I have recently tried a victor Thunder 1114 (didn't like the feel of this) and a Yonex 97VF (too flexible, and I lacked power with it).
    • I'm a borderline B/C level player, depending on the weather :rolleyes:
    • I am not a power player, and almost exclusively play doubles.
    • I want something with similar control to the cab-10T, but wouldn't mind trying something a *little* more power oriented. Key is not to sacrifice manouverability significantly.
    • I suspect I should stay with an oval head shape rather than switching back and forwards (maybe this is one reason I didn't get on with the 97VF?).
    Comments much appreciated, especially from other Cab 10 T fans.

Thanks.

2. ukwomble

ukwomble New Member

Bump: no current/former cab-10 tour users ...?

3. SPaterson

SPaterson Regular Member

Student, Programmer