Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Change hand when playing

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by wakin75x, Nov 13, 2012.

  1. wakin75x

    wakin75x Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore, North
    Hi all,

    May I know is there a rule say that the player he or she can't change the racket to the other hand when playing the game? And in single and double game, the player got 1 leg stand on outside the court and receive the shuttle is it a fault or out?

    Thx.
     
  2. Cillu

    Cillu Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Racquet Tech
    Location:
    Canada
    Switching the racket to another hand shouldn't matter. As for stepping out of the court to hit it, that's definitely legal.
     
  3. Fidget

    Fidget Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,280
    Likes Received:
    35
    Occupation:
    something far too busy for my badminton needs
    Location:
    Canada
    If the OP means on receiving service then both feet need to be in the proper service area.
    9.1.2 the server and the receiver shall stand within diagonally opposite service courts without touching the boundary lines of these service courts;

    [BWF website]
     
  4. wakin75x

    wakin75x Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore, North
    thx for the reply, now i know this rule. i got a game on last monday and one of the player he sometime will step out of the court when receiving the shuttle from the back court on receiving service and mid of the game. But he told me was not fault.
     
  5. |_Footwork_|

    |_Footwork_| Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Smashikon, Driveland
    you have to stand inside the lines when in a "ready position" to receive the serve.

    if the opponent then does a flick serve (for example) you may of course run backwards, jump and step everywhere you like!! or do a step forward when receiving the short service is of course allowed.
    (though, it's unlikely you have to leave the court, but that's another story...)
     
  6. latecomer

    latecomer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    40
    Occupation:
    selfemploy
    Location:
    aberdeen
    please clarify the timing. he was out bound before or after the shuttle in motion.
     
  7. wakin75x

    wakin75x Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore, North
    before he hit the shuttle his leg already out bound.
     
  8. latecomer

    latecomer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    40
    Occupation:
    selfemploy
    Location:
    aberdeen
    you don't understand the question. was he in bound or out bound while waiting for the serve.
     
  9. |_Footwork_|

    |_Footwork_| Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Smashikon, Driveland
    to make a long story short:

    as soon as you hit the shuttle while serving, he may run outside the court, jump, hit the shuttle whereever he likes, even do some deceptive backflips...:cool:

    e.g.: if you serve way too long, say 3m behind the court, he may still hit the shuttle 3m behind the backline and the game will continue. this is NOT a fault!
     
  10. wakin75x

    wakin75x Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore, North
    He's in bound while waiting for the serve.
     
  11. wakin75x

    wakin75x Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore, North
    Got it. thx fyi. that means my friend got no fault at all.
     
  12. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,412
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    as fidget quotes the bwf rules, you can only stand within the line boundaries when preparing to serve or receive

    however, once the serve has started, then you can stand anywhere and do anything you want, including triple backflips and jumping jacks on the lines, outside the lines, ... as a matter of fact you can even run over to the other side of the court, as long as you don't impede his stroke and movement! ;)
     
  13. wakin75x

    wakin75x Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore, North
    still got a thing like to know. when playing net shot, is it a fault when the racket touching the net and our foot step over the centre line?
     
  14. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,412
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    can't touch the net or tape... foot: ok if you're not impeding the opponent
     
  15. craigandy

    craigandy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    UK
    If the shuttle has hit the ground after playing the shot you may touch the net with your racket, or if you are receiving the shot and it hits your opponents side of the net and begins to fall to the floor you may also touch the net. Just to confuse you:D You are also allowed to cross the center line with any part of your body including your racket as long as it does not impede opponent.
     
  16. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    PanAm Umpire
    Location:
    California, United States
    I'm not gonna go into the racket touching net thing. (You can search around my posts to the rules regarding that)

    As for going under the net with any part of your body or racket, the rules state that it is fine if it does not impede OR DISTRACT your opponent. And honestly, you can win a point easily from that. Once you see your opponent's foot pass under the net, you can go up to the umpire and complain it is a fault since it distracted you and so you failed to return the next shot.
     
  17. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    If the opponent just played a net kill that you had no chance of returning, then a competent umpire won't take you seriously. It happens a lot in professional matches, especially men's singles, and I've never seen it called as a fault (as long as the player's body didn't actually touch any part of the net).
     
  18. venkatesh

    venkatesh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    editor
    Location:
    manila
    :D gymnast slash badminton player. I'd love to see LD or LCW do this.
     
  19. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    PanAm Umpire
    Location:
    California, United States
    In that particular case, most likely the net kill already completes before you are distracted. But let's say a player dives or does something where their foot crosses the bottom of the net, you can technically go up to the umpire and say you were looking at your opponent and were distracted in that case and you weren't paying attention to the next shot, which constitutes a fault.
     
  20. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    OK, I see your point. But I've never actually seen anyone dive under the net.
     

Share This Page