Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Contacting the feather with the cork at the same time

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by St0rMRiD3R, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. St0rMRiD3R

    St0rMRiD3R New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sarawak
    i swing the racket to start a game. the racket is contacting with the cork before the feather. it is fault? means that you will hear the contaction between the racket and the feather's sound. i like to play badminton, but someone is telling me about my faults.....i just want to make sure that it is true. thx
     
  2. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    9.1.4 the server’s racket shall initially hit the base of the shuttle;


     
  3. Thom_bad

    Thom_bad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Welcome Stormrider !

    The "base of shuttle" is the cork !
    When you serve, your racket should touch first the cork, even if you do a backhand serve. If you touch first the feather, it is fault.
     
  4. abedeng

    abedeng Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    18,692
    Likes Received:
    115
    Occupation:
    Occupying Tall Buildings
    Location:
    In Competition
    That definition of "base of shuttle" was put in place in the early 80s after the banning of the Sidek brothers' S-serve, which hit the feathers first with cork in upside down position.
     
  5. St0rMRiD3R

    St0rMRiD3R New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sarawak
    ya, i do a backhand serve. when i serve, my racket touch the cork first. But it may be touch the feather of the shuttle after cork. Although i touch the cork first but you will hear the sound that i touch the feather of the shuttle. In this condition, it's fault? Because i met an old man said he was an international referee since 10 years ago. I'm feeling annoying with this problem.
     
  6. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Since the wording is "initially" that means that it doesn't matter what it hits afterwards. As long as you're hitting the cork first then it's not a fault.
     
  7. demolidor

    demolidor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    @Hollanti
    So he didn't call it as a double hit? (which it shouldn't be called as)
     
    #7 demolidor, Nov 6, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
  8. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I guess it depends on whether the cork is still in contact with the strings when the feathers hit it, then it would still be one contact. That would be really difficult to tell though.

    - If the shuttle is hit twice in succession by the same player with two strokes.

    is the rule so as long as it isn't two strokes then hitting the cork then the feathers should not be a fault?
     
  9. Cheung

    Cheung Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    16,229
    Likes Received:
    30
    Occupation:
    wannabe badminton phototaker
    Location:
    Outside the box
    That is not a fault. But your old man may have slow reflexes so he thinks you are hitting both at the same time.:)

    Ask your old man where it says in the rule book that it is a fault if you hit the feathers after hitting the cork. He should show you or otherwise stop complaining about being beaten on court by you.
     
  10. Resistor

    Resistor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Best thing to do at this stage is to record your own serve. You might had hit the cork and feathers at the same time not realising it.
     
  11. St0rMRiD3R

    St0rMRiD3R New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sarawak
    I'm sure that i hit the cork before feather. The old man also know about it. The problem is the old man complaining about "touching the feather when we serve". What i know is we can't hit the feather first such like the Sidek done before. Everytime when i play together with the old man, he will said my way serving is fault. So, my way serving is not fault right? May i know what should i do? Any suggestion? Thanks all.:rolleyes:
     
  12. demolidor

    demolidor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    @Hollanti
    "Law 13.3.8

    Previously (13.6.2):

    It is a ‘fault’ if, in play, the shuttle is hit twice in succession by the same player with two strokes;

    Now:

    It shall be a ‘fault’ if, in play, the shuttle is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a ‘fault’;

    Notes:

    1. The original Law only disallowed the same player hitting the shuttle with two strokes. That has been dropped in the new Law, which means that a player may not hit the shuttle twice in succession even with a single stroke.
    2. However, it is OK for a shuttle to hit the head and strings of a racket in one stroke, even though that may sound like a double hit."

    Other than rule 9.1.4 there is nothing in the rules about which part of the shuttle may or may not be hit ...
     
    #12 demolidor, Nov 7, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2009
  13. Cheung

    Cheung Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    16,229
    Likes Received:
    30
    Occupation:
    wannabe badminton phototaker
    Location:
    Outside the box
    Did you read the 2nd paragraph of my post that is two postings earlier to yours?
     

Share This Page