Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Double Hit not a 'FAULT"anymore??

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by cck1609, Sep 29, 2012.

  1. cck1609

    cck1609 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    spore
    I had a game with some friends last night. During one of the dbles games, one of my opponents strike a hit which was clearly a double hit. I told them it was a fault as the shuttle had clearly hit the racket twice before onto our court. but one of the guy claimed double hit is no longer a "fault" under the current rules. WTF?!!!!! i asked.

    So is it true? can someone pl enlighten me. tks
     
  2. Ch1k0

    Ch1k0 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,047
    Likes Received:
    73
    Occupation:
    N/A
    Location:
    Singapore
    These are the only rules I can find that may explain it. All under chapter 13 in regards to Faults. I quote these directly from here http://www.bwfbadminton.org/file_download.aspx?id=364295&tid=1 and they were last approved at the BWF May 2012 AGM and June 1 2012 Council Meeting

    13.3.7 is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke;

    13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a 'fault';

    13.3.9 is hit by a player and the player's partner successively; or

    13.3.10 touches a player's racket and does not travel towards the opponents' court;

    But if you're saying he clearly hit the shuttle with two separate strokes then that guy is definitely giving you crap seeing as he thinks he knows the rules =/
     
  3. cck1609

    cck1609 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    spore
    Tks Ch1k0!!
    I think tat guy is correct!!
    What had happened was exactly as mentioned in 13.3.8. the shuttle hit the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke.... damn it! I was wrong!!
     
  4. Fidget

    Fidget Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,303
    Likes Received:
    46
    Occupation:
    something far too busy for my badminton needs
    Location:
    Canada
    It is a good rule change because many a disagreement arose from people's different perceptions of a double hit. But the 'carry' or 'sling' is still a fault -- a few folks think that rule was eliminated too. (I actually had to convince an opponent that my sling was indeed a fault and thus his point)
     
    #4 Fidget, Sep 29, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2012
  5. Ch1k0

    Ch1k0 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,047
    Likes Received:
    73
    Occupation:
    N/A
    Location:
    Singapore
    Glad I could help you find your answer :) Learn something new everyday ;)
     

Share This Page