Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

double hits...

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by amleto, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    this is a question about if/how you can see a double hit in a particular case.

    the circumstance I am talking about is where the shuttle appears to change direction twice when opponent strikes shuttle. Once is obviously normal, but on these occasions it appears that the cork has been hit again, or the feathers have been hit such that the flight of the shuttle seems to change after the initial hit. The second hit, in these cases, happens very quickly after the first.

    my question is, is this a genuine double hit (ie a fault), or is it just optical illusion caused by feathers being hit after the cork (and therefore legal)?

    I know it is hard to clearly define without a movie clip, but hopefully you know what I am on about.
     
    #1 amleto, Oct 22, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2010
  2. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,508
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    as long as it is one smooth stroke, it is still legal
     
  3. cobalt

    cobalt Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Yes
    Location:
    Arrakis
    Wouldn't it constitute sort-of holding the bird on the racquet bed? Oh here is something I found from the Handbook.


     
  4. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    I'm familiar with rules. what I don't know is, what is happening when I see this - Is it a double hit on the cork? Or is it just a very heavy hit on the feathers after the cork. One is legal, one is not.
     
  5. cobalt

    cobalt Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Yes
    Location:
    Arrakis
    I've been trying to imagine what it would take to manage a double-hit on the cork, but I still cannot come up with a viable scenario. For my money, any "double-touch" would be cork + feathers.
     
  6. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    I thought of a way of better describing what I see - it looks a bit like the shuttle tumbles, but from what would normally be a clear or drive shot. As these are normally short impact time with shuttle, it looks very strange and dubious.
     
  7. blindaim

    blindaim Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore , Tampines
    in my own opinoion , as long as no double hit on the cork.

    because i always hit the cork and the feather quite often. haha
     

Share This Page