Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

double rules in the box

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by funniegal, Jul 20, 2014.

  1. funniegal

    funniegal Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    hougang
    Hi, If i'm having a repeat post by other user , sorry. I would like to know...abt the In and Out on the court.

    I thought That for double is 'short and fat* As in Once the shutter is btw the box behind is consider out and if shutter is inside the box at the side is consider in.

    As for Singles is the opps.

    But yesterday when i play, My frend told me.. If whoever serve first , when the ball goes in the middle of the box is consider 'In' .

    I'm really confused. Means if im not the one who serve , when the ball goes in the middle is out?

    Pls help. Thanks:crying:
     
  2. PinkDawg

    PinkDawg Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    U.S.
    If the ball hits the middle line, then it is in. After the serve, in singles, the court is long and thin. After the serve, in doubles, the court is long and fat. Sorry if this doesn't help, but I hope it does.
     
  3. IvanT

    IvanT Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Singles: Before serve, long and thin, after serve, long and thin.
    Doubles: Before serve, short and fat, after serve, long and fat.
     
  4. funniegal

    funniegal Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    hougang
    thanks guys. So is..in double

    1. A serve - after hiting a few ball back.. it land in the middle box so is in.

    2. A waiting for B serve - after hiting a few ball back it land in the middle box so is out.

    Am i rite?
     
  5. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    whats the middle box? :confused:

    I dont undersand 'hitting a few ball back'
     
  6. funniegal

    funniegal Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    hougang
    :D sorry for latee reply.

    Middle box erm..is btw the last line and the line before the last line.

    Hitting a few ball back. erm...is hitting the shutter back and flow. :D
     
  7. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    1. A serve - after hiting a few ball back.. it land in the middle box so is in.


    This doesn't make sense then - the serve is the first shot, so it can't be after hitting a few shots.

    The last line in which direction? front/back?

    Either way, the last line and the line before the last line is a tramline or a singles-only service area.

    Yes, doubles service area is 'short and fat'.
     
  8. craigandy

    craigandy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    UK
    Let me give this a go - After hitting a few ball back the middle box is in, always, every time. before hitting any ball back just serve middle box is out.
     
  9. latecomer

    latecomer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    45
    Occupation:
    selfemploy
    Location:
    aberdeen
    When the ball lands inside the box, it is in. When the ball lands outside the box, it is out. Simple.
     
  10. funniegal

    funniegal Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    hougang
    :p I wonder why my frend confuse me. when he say that if u served the ball ..but if the opp hit back a few times and u hit it..in the middle box is out. ARGHH!!!!! :mad:


    Thanks all for the help
     
  11. funniegal

    funniegal Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    hougang
    Is the back.

    Yep double service area is short and fat. Just tat my frend say in 100% confident that when i served the ball the first shot, he hit back, i manage to hit back again but went straight to the middle box behind... is consider out.

    That is why i am so confused when he is sooo confident .
     
  12. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    after the serve in doubles everything in the largest box is in.
     
  13. latecomer

    latecomer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    45
    Occupation:
    selfemploy
    Location:
    aberdeen
    It doesn't matter where the ball lands, you decide in or out if the ball is dead in your side of the court.
     
  14. OhSearsTower

    OhSearsTower Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berlin
    crazy fred

    i like latecomer more confusion injection

    also love craigandy copy gamba style:D
     
  15. OhSearsTower

    OhSearsTower Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berlin
    give that dude a harsh correction that he is wrong and stop discussing with him

    middlebox in play is in OBV., no discussion anymore with him he shall look up the rules if he dont believe you
     
  16. frederic

    frederic Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Pharmaceuticals
    Location:
    Bangladesh
    I am a new member of this Forum and I would like to say that it is a great pleasure for me to know more about the rules of badminton playing.
     

Share This Page