Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Doubles Backhand Short Serve Rule

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by neavalmi0421, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. neavalmi0421

    neavalmi0421 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    New Product Development
    Location:
    Cavite, Philippines
    Hi , i am watching a tournament (mixed doubles) and one of the players is complaining to the umpire with regards to the service of his opponent (the female). The female backhand short serve is somehow strange, she start with the regular starting position but once she start to draw back her racket head she also starts to raise/lift/move up the shuttle with her left hand (right handed player) around two to three inches then release the shuttle. it is still obvious though that this player hit the shuttle still within waist level (9.1.5) since strike it when the shuttle is falling down not when it is going up. And this is what i can understand from the umpire's explanation though i am in the bleacher that the female player release then strike the shuttle at the waist level and so the game continue with that. I am trying to look in the Badminton Law but i cannot find any rule to determine if this method of service is a fault or not. Can somebody pls help clarify? Thanks.
     
  2. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,508
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Nothing wrong with that, as long as the shuttle is still struck below the waist level.

    Only problem with that serve is a technical one, as the dropped shuttle won't be struck as accurately as if it was struck directly out of the hand.
     
  3. Karakalkat

    Karakalkat Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Distributor for Karakal
    Location:
    Vietnam
    The head of shuttle must be hit first not the feathers first...this might be why they complained..???
     
  4. neavalmi0421

    neavalmi0421 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    New Product Development
    Location:
    Cavite, Philippines
    thanks visor. i also agree as long as the player hits the shuttle below waist.

    karakalkat,
    i think it's the way it is being lifted since the umpire demonstrated the lifting and releasing to the complainant. But i think it is a good point also to consider that the player who lifted the shuttle during this BH short serve might not be hitting the cork first or simultaneously hitting feather and cork but it cannot be verified.
     
  5. joonu

    joonu Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    executive
    Location:
    India
    How can a player execute a service by hitting a shuttle directly out of hand ? I think it is fault. To my knowledge, it should be dropped before hitting.
     
  6. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,508
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    All coaches will tell you that, for an accurate and consistent short backhand serve, you should practically hit the bird almost out of your hand. This can be done by letting go of the bird at the very last millisecond just before the bird is struck.

    If you watch pro players serving in slowmo, you'll see that the bird does not drop even a millimeter.
     
    #6 visor, Nov 1, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2010
  7. pBmMalaysia

    pBmMalaysia Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    badminton coach
    Location:
    Kuching, Malaysia, Malaysia
    you are right! that millisecond strike the shuttle!
     
  8. extremenanopowe

    extremenanopowe Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    12,272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Chief Coach. Get only NCAP/NROC certified coach. C
    Location:
    SG. Go for NCAP-L2 certified coach.
    Service can make or break your game. Better don't try risky style of service or else, it's going to break your tempo and loose the game.

    Umpires can be a nightmare at times. Even opponents can complain. ;) Play it safe and comfortable for yourself. ;)
     
  9. PopsiclePete

    PopsiclePete Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, Ontario
    I see a lot of players moving backwards, almost fading away, just as the shuttle and racquet make contact...is this legal?
     
  10. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,508
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    I don't see any law against that, as long as both feet remain stationary on the ground during the serve.
     
  11. PopsiclePete

    PopsiclePete Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, Ontario
    Also, while I've got someone here...if a player makes a double pump in his service motion? ie, moves racket forward a bit, stops, pulls back and then strikes the shuttle.....it's distinct enough that you want to move for the shuttle on the first movement haha
     
  12. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,508
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    That would definitely be illegal, as one of the laws says the serve motion has to be one continuous forward motion.
     
  13. 2wheels04

    2wheels04 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cal Central
    I reckon this is a doubles thread, but do you think your description fits how one player from China serves in his single matches. Look up YouTube and search for Lin Dan. As far as I recall, he has been faulted a few times, but not all.
     

Share This Page