Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Doubles service

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by yorbandit, Jan 8, 2010.

  1. yorbandit

    yorbandit New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    northants
    Sorry have looked but can not find an answer that fits so simpley but in doubles is the service court from the bentre line to the outer court side line or from the center line to the singles boundary line. I understand that the back line moves forward in doubles just for the serve i am talking about here what i want to know is does the service court extend to the outer boundary line


    As the line carries on across the singles boundary line am i right thinking i have answered me own question by saying that in doubles the service court is to the outside boundary line
     
    #1 yorbandit, Jan 8, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2010
  2. LazyBuddy

    LazyBuddy Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    10,222
    Likes Received:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    New York, US
    Yes, the double's service boundary is "shorter and wider". ;)
     
  3. kamalistic

    kamalistic Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Deputy Director - Traffic & Monitoring - RMS (medi
    Location:
    Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
    In doubles, is service boundary short only for the 'service' (lol as says) or also the whole court is shorter?

    Also, how do we change services in doubles? anyone?

    ps: apparently I'm new :)
     
  4. Playful-Wind

    Playful-Wind Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Is this correct?

    [​IMG]

    for doubles?
     
  5. Trmun

    Trmun Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    yes it is - though the proportions of the court seems a bit odd :p
     
  6. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    That's the correct service area. In terms of who serves, it depends on whether you're playing the old 15 point or the new 21 point game

    If the new 21 point system then the server will be the right side if you have even number of points and the left if you have odd number of points. Only 1 serve per side. Remember that in 21 point system it's rally point so a point is gained/lost for every rally.

    As an example, if the score is 12-14 and the side with 12 points is serving but then they lose the rally, the score becomes 12-15 and the person on the left side serves.
     

Share This Page