Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

[DOUBLES] the partner of server or receiver move on the court during service

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by ucantseeme, Oct 11, 2013.

  1. ucantseeme

    ucantseeme Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Location
    Hey guys,

    a girl at my club ask me yesterday if it is allowed that in doubles the partner of receiver or server can move on court? Both feet are not touching the ground during service.
    I didn't find any rule which forbid this. Can some of the geeks here ;) answer my question?
    Thank you much BCs.:)
     
  2. Nauroa

    Nauroa Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Geek
    Location:
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    I'm prerry sure the partner can move as long as he is not distracting the opponent or hindering the opponents vision of the shuttle.
     
  3. Jacob mm

    Jacob mm Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    School
    Location:
    Danmark
    Thats true :D
     
  4. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    PanAm Umpire
    Location:
    California, United States
    I've had this happen. Eventually the opposing side came up to me saying it was distracting, so I told the player who kept moving that he had to stop or I would fault him.
     
  5. gundamzaku

    gundamzaku Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    working professional
    Location:
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    there was one point in the Denmark Open Men's Doubles between Lee/Yoo against the mental midgets and i think Yoo in the back moved a tiny bit prior to the serve and the umpire didn't fault him, so i guess it's up to the umpire to call it or for the opposing players to object to the movement.

    side note: tho i still think Boe (more so than Mogensen) is a mental midget, they got rob on that one point where the umpire didn't clarify which shot was a fault which caused Boe to mishit in that game i mentioned above :(
     

Share This Page