Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Fault or Not ?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by ftook, Apr 19, 2008.

  1. ftook

    ftook Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Director
    Location:
    Wolverhampton - UK
    Could someone please help with a question,

    I played a shot and the shuttle landed in but went around the side of the post, I am sure that this is a legal shot - am I correct ?
     
  2. Retro_10s

    Retro_10s Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    So you hit a shot that went around the outside of the post but landed in. Am I to assume you hit the shuttle when it was 'out' but it landed in.

    Sounds legal to me! nothing stopping you hitting a shot outside of the court except perhaps your partner wanting you to leave it :)

    like this
    [​IMG]
     
    #2 Retro_10s, Apr 19, 2008
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2008
  3. Gabriyel

    Gabriyel Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I think that what he means is that he took the shot from his side of the court, probably out or very close to the line, and the shot went around the netpost and landed in in his opponent courtside.
    A few years ago, some associations would have said the shot is legal and the point is yours, but since the last modifications to badminton rulings, you find this (extracted from IBF official rules):
    13. FAULTS​
    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    13.3. if in play, the shuttle:
    13.3.3. fails to pass over the net;
    Which would mean your opponent has the point, since your shot did not pass over the net.
     
  4. Retro_10s

    Retro_10s Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Ah i see. Hmmmm. depends a lot on the height of the shuttle too then?
     
  5. exalted

    exalted Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Marketing
    Location:
    Nashua, New Hampshire
    Sorry, no boomerang snakes allowed in the sport of badminton...
     
  6. exalted

    exalted Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Marketing
    Location:
    Nashua, New Hampshire
  7. asriwn

    asriwn Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Desa Paya Mengkuang, Gelang Patah,Johor, Malaysia
    you mean kaidoh in prince of tennis main skill???huahua
     
  8. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    No. It would be a fault if the shuttle were higher than the net but did not pass directly over it. The law changed in 2006, and this was one of the minor modifications; previously it would have been legal.
     
  9. HTE2008

    HTE2008 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Photo editor
    Location:
    Denmark
    fault indeed, but a terrible rule change IMHO :(
     
  10. 2NDround

    2NDround Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    How can you tell if the shuttle went over the net in tight cases. If the shuttle is 20 feet in the air (for example), how can you tell if it 5 inches in or 5 inches out? :rolleyes:

    If the rule change is as describe in earlier posts, it is indeed a terrible rule :mad:.
     
  11. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Don't be silly! It is merely to provide clarification of a slightly ambiguous, but extremely rare, area. How many times would this happen in real life? That a player, standing outside his own court, would be foolish enough to hit a falling shuttle back?
     
  12. IBaddersI

    IBaddersI Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    School
    Location:
    UK, Shropshire
    An old coach once told me that you could serve around the net, (lean very far out, and aim for the back of the service area) so maybe it was to get rid of this?
     
  13. Retro_10s

    Retro_10s Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    how about when it's a very hard call on the line and you hit it back down the outer tramline..... not everyone can call a shot so easily.
     
  14. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    And even fewer people have the skill to hit the shuttle along a line accurately. If you are going to be so foolish as to return a shot that is falling wide, at least aim well into the opponent's courts so that you have a chance of landing it in - and that way it will go over the net.
     
  15. Retro_10s

    Retro_10s Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I completely agree,... It would be foolish for someone of my standard, or apparently yours, to hit a shot like that when you should just leave it to fall out. But for a beginner?.. not foolish at all when they're just learning and how to control the shuttle and racket. :)

    In anycase,.. It's a fault. Case solved ;)
     
  16. 2NDround

    2NDround Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Assuming things as being silly too often and one of these days one of these things will come back and bite us in the ass.
     
  17. xXazn_romeoXx

    xXazn_romeoXx Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    North American Technical Director for Oliver Sport
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    you do know that there IS an episode where kaidoh does this in a badminton game, only to be called a fault by the umpire and his peers :rolleyes::p. i don't remember which episode # or season, but it was a "special" episode in which they try different sports ;):p
     

Share This Page