Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

faulty or not ?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by bdoel10, May 29, 2009.

  1. bdoel10

    bdoel10 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    account officer
    Location:
    jakarta
    Just wonder...is it a fault when making any kind of shot (even doing a high lift), i accidentally mishit the bird but it comes deceiving our oppnts (such as hitting the bird by racket's frame) ?
    In my friendly game, it's just treated as usual (no fault perceived), it even gave a point to me:D.
    1). Cud u tell me how it's treated in international/pros games?
    2). how is the serve gonna be taken as fault by umpire (at official int'l game)?

    Thx
    doel
     
  2. Danstevens

    Danstevens Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Mis-hits (as in hitting the frame) used to be faults but are now allowed. If you fluke a mis-hit in to a fortunate position, there isn't really much you can do other than apologise to your opponent. You could put the shuttle deliberately in to the net next serve to give them the point back but an apology is enough.
     
  3. bdoel10

    bdoel10 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    account officer
    Location:
    jakarta
    Apology?
    you're not kidding me,right? point by point is struggled to 'one last breathe', how cud i deliberately give them point back??? :-(
     
  4. Danstevens

    Danstevens Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    You'd just serve the shuttle in to the net. If you fluked a shot that won you a point and you weren't happy about taking it, serving it in to the net would give your opponent a point and the serve.
     
  5. DivingBirdie

    DivingBirdie Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Singapore
    no fault , and play shall carry on. no way in hell am i gonna deliberately give a point back ...:D
     
  6. gamepurpose

    gamepurpose Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    unemployeed
    Location:
    garden grove
    ok here's the question
    what if you hit the bird by ur FRAME and within wat so ever .03? second it hit the string and gets over your opponent court. And it's all involve with one motion.
    is that legal? for international game?
    i know it's hard to believe, but sometime it happen to me when returning the smash.
     
  7. bradmyster

    bradmyster Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Customer server network Support
    Location:
    Australia, Brisbane
    double hitting is illegal. But sometimes its very hard for the referee to pick up on due to the quickness of the event. If you know for a fact you double hit the shuttle then be honest and stop play.
    Iv done it plenty of times and it has been missed. I dont like cheating so i normally stop play and just say sorry i double hit.

    and on topic frame/mishit shots are not illegal. Just raise your hand in apology and continue with play.
     
  8. bdoel10

    bdoel10 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    account officer
    Location:
    jakarta
    clear n sound now
    thanks
     
  9. gamepurpose

    gamepurpose Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    unemployeed
    Location:
    garden grove
    koo ty for the information
    appreciated never knew it illegal =)
     
  10. William86_98

    William86_98 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Singapore
    double hitting is not illegal in your example so long as the shuttle is struck during ONE stroke, and so long as the shuttle is not slung. this is true in all levels, including international.

    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    13.3 if in play, the shuttle:
    13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a ‘fault’
     

Share This Page