Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Game Rule - Interesting Case Study

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by e_rat, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. e_rat

    e_rat Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Art
    Location:
    SF Bayarea, CA
    Besides badminton, I play golf too. Maybe, you all know there are so many rules in golf. In contrast, badminton rule was much simpler. Here is something I want to share with you all.

    I read this case from the book, "Badminton", by Steven Boga. Published by Stackpole Books, ISBN 0-8117-2487-5

    During a fast-paced rally, a player, not realizing the shuttle will land well out of bounds, drives the bird down her right sideline. It travels below the net level to the right of the net pole and lands in the back corner of the opponent's court. What is the call?

    a. Award the rally to the striking player
    b. Award the rally to the defending player
    c. Call a let


    (Let: Any exchange or rally that is replayed.)

    I was amazed what the answer is. I will give out the answer next week. If you interested, there are few more cases that I can share.
     
  2. ionoo

    ionoo Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    is it b? Since the birdie traveled below the net level? Btw have you read any books (not ebooks) that offer a lot of strategies or weight training book specifically for badminton?
     
  3. petert1401

    petert1401 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maidstone, KENT
    It's A, it's perfectly valid to hit the shuttle around the post below net height. It's no real advantage to the striker as it can only be done if the shuttle was going out anyway - unlike tennis, you can't use sidespin to bend the flight of the ball/shuttle around the post.
     
  4. krisss

    krisss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ? ?The Moon? ?
    Yep - A.

    The shuttle can hit the pole , and go in , winning the point!

    Unfortuntely never happened to me :p.
     
  5. gamepurpose

    gamepurpose Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    unemployeed
    Location:
    garden grove
    It's A
    It perfectly fine if it goes around the pole.

    I think as long as if it doesn't goes under in the section where between the net and the pole.
     
  6. Break-My-String

    Break-My-String Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    from BWF Laws of Badminton (updated Jan 2009)

    13.3.3 It shall be a fault, if in play, the shuttle fails to pass over the net.

    I guess I would have to say B :rolleyes:

    Cheers!
     
  7. Tomsk

    Tomsk Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    I agree with Break-My String.

    That book was published in 1996. The earliest copy of rules I have is 2002 and the relevant rule then was:

    It is a 'fault':
    13.2 if in play, the shuttle
    13.2.3 fails to pass the net

    If this rule was in force in 1996, then it would not be a fault, as there is no requirement for the shuttle to pass over the net. It was (and still is) a fault for the shuttle to pass under the net.

    With the new rules (Jan 2009) then I would say it is a fault.
     
  8. e_rat

    e_rat Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Art
    Location:
    SF Bayarea, CA
    According to the book where I got this case study, the answer is A

    Award the rally to the player striking the shuttle. The only time the shuttle is required to pass directly over the net is during service (Law 11.1.6). During a rally, the shuttle may legally travel over the net or at any height around the net pole. It is a fault if the shuttle travels under or through the net (Law 15.4.2).

    However, as Break-my-string stated, this book is written in 1996. How the new law interpret this? Is this still legal? I don't know. But, if it happen to me in a real life (maybe the odd is less than winning a slot machine Jackpot), I will go with answer A.

     
  9. e_rat

    e_rat Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Art
    Location:
    SF Bayarea, CA
    ionoo, I pick up this book was because my daughter (7th grade) needed it for research paper. Went to 3 branch libraries in San Francisco, I could only found 3 books on badminton, and they are all from 90's. I could find more books on Stakeboard than badminton. How sad!

    Well, to answer your question, no, I haven't read any books on strategies or weight training. I just come to badmintoncentral.com for advices.

    Yeah, BC!
     
  10. e_rat

    e_rat Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Art
    Location:
    SF Bayarea, CA
    Case #2:

    :) A player strikes a shuttle that obviously will not clear the net. The striker's opponent, not realizing that the shuttle will be SHORT, take a swing at it , misses, but hit the net tape with his racket. At the moment the opponent touches the net, the shuttle is about an inch below the top the net. What is the call?

    A. Nothing
    B. Call a fault on the opponent for touching the net.
    C. Award the rally the opponent who touched the net.
    D. Call a let

    Case #3:

    A player strikes a shuttle that hits the top of the net and begins to fall on the striker's side the net. The striker's opponent, not realizing that the shuttle has failed to clear the net, swings at it, misses, but hit the net with the racket. At the time she hit the net, the shuttle is below the tape level on the striker's side of the net. What is the call?

    A. Nothing
    B. Call fault on the opponent for touching the net.
    C. Award the rally to the opponent who touched the net.
    D. Call a let.

    This two cases are so similar, but #2 make it over the net but SHORT, and #3 did not make it over the net. I will come back later for answer from this book. :rolleyes:

    enjoy!
     
  11. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    ??? This contradicts what you said first. Ignoring this comment, and just replying to the blue text:

    Case 2: the shuttle is still in play, therefore the answer is B.

    Case 3: the shuttle ceased to be in play after it hit the net, at the moment it started to fall on the striker's side, therefore the answer is C.

    The difference between the two cases is purely the timing, yes? The striker plays the same shot in both cases (the shuttle will hit the net); in case 2, the opponent touches the net before the shuttle does, and in case 3 the shuttle hits the net first.
     
  12. Joseph

    Joseph Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Starving Graduate Student
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    When I was reading this, I was immediately thinking snake shot. (for those of you who know what I'm talking about)
     
  13. Pisthetairos

    Pisthetairos Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    USA
    Noooooo leave that out of here!

    Recognizing that has made me want to crawl under a rock for the rest of the day ;.;
     
  14. RocKai

    RocKai Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Hospitality
    Location:
    Kiwiland
    For #2: I think it's B.

    For #3: I think it's C. Because the shuttle has failed to pass the net and the point is already awarded to the defender even though he/she touches the net after.

    Very interesting case, keep them coming.
     
  15. Monster

    Monster Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brunei
    Sounds like when I took my highway codes and rules for my driving test.

    #3 is new to me.
     
  16. markham player

    markham player Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    medical
    Location:
    toronto
    #1 is A
    #2 is B
    #3 is B
    I think.
     
  17. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I wonder if e_rat plans to come back and actually give us the answers.
     
  18. e_rat

    e_rat Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Art
    Location:
    SF Bayarea, CA
    #2 is B, because the bird is still in play, when the opponent hits the net. Law 15.6.1

    #3 is C, since the bird did not get over the net, the bird was not in play (the rally was already over) when opponent touched the net. So touching the net was not fault. Law 17.2

    I just copy them from the book. Once again, the book is from 1996. So, feel free to correct me if it is outdated.
     
    #18 e_rat, Sep 21, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2009
  19. e_rat

    e_rat Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Art
    Location:
    SF Bayarea, CA
    Case #4

    In a double match, a player swings at and misses the shuttle. His swing carries his racket head over the net into his opponents' court space. Before the shuttle hits the floor behind him, his partner swats in over the net for an apparent winner. What is the call?
     
  20. venkatesh

    venkatesh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    editor
    Location:
    manila
    If the thrown racket hits any of the the opposite players, it's already an obstruction. Therefore, the umpire should call a let.

    If the thrown racket did not obstruct in anyway, the point should be awarded to the striker.

    Did I get it right?
     

Share This Page