Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Hold still when opponent is serving?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Yakimych, May 1, 2011.

Tags:
  1. Yakimych

    Yakimych New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Sometimes when playing someone who has a predictable serve (e.g. serves 99% short from the backhand side), I wait for the server to set up, and make a menacing step forward before he actually makes the serve. This move occurs before my opponent stroking the shuttle. A friend pointed out that one must hold still when an opponent is serving and that making a move results in an automatic point loss. However, I can't seem to find any reference to such a rule. Can anyone clarify whether it's illegal and point me to the corresponding rule?
    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,262
    Likes Received:
    528
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    the beginning of the serve commences at the first forward movement of the server's racket. in between that time and the server's racket contact with the shuttlecock, the receive cannot move his feet. your body can move as long as your feet are firmly planted on the ground during that time.

    after the server's racket hits the shuttlecock, then you are of course free to move anyway.
     
  3. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    The rule states that both your feet must be on the ground when the server starts his motion not just when he makes contact with the shuttle. Keep in mind13.4.5 though which talks about deliberately distracting your opponent which is what you're doing.

    So not only is it a fault but imo poor sportsmanship.
     
  4. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    The rule states that both your feet must be on the ground when the server starts his motion not just when he makes contact with the shuttle. Keep in mind 13.4.5 though which talks about deliberately distracting your opponent which is what you're doing.

    So not only is it a fault but imo poor sportsmanship.
     
  5. Yakimych

    Yakimych New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Thanks for the reply, that clarifies it. I had to re-read 9.1.3 several times before noticing that the receiver is also mentioned in it ;)
     
  6. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Sorry for the double post, my tablet froze when I hit reply....
     
  7. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    United States
    I've had a recent discussion about this with other umpires. This is what we came out with:

    From the start of the service (forward movement of the racket), until the serve is delivered (when the racket contacts the shuttle), some part of both feet must be in a stationary position with the ground. So your arms and body can move forward, or you can lift your heel, as long as some part of your feet are still in a stationary position.

    Law 9.1.3 Some part of both feet of the server and the receiver shall remain in contact with the surface of the court in a stationary position from the start of the service (Law 9.2) until the service is delivered (Law 9.3);
     
  8. 2wheels04

    2wheels04 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cal Central
    The laws pertaining to legal services are given on pp 8 of the handbook that was published June 2010, check this out here.

    To reiterate what others have replied, service is started by the server, when s/he moves the racquet head forward and is completed when the racquet hits the shuttle.

    The official phrase is "Fault - Receiver," and is said by the umpire if there is one for that match. The receiver loses that point due to illegal movement, only if the service was delivered illegally. If that was the last point of the game or set, then receiver also looses that game or match. When the server also commits a fault on serve, then it will be played as a let.

    This is only with regard to having stationary contact with court. The receiver may prefer to dance with his body, sway his/her racquet, as long as the feet maintain stationary contact. This will not violate the service laws, however it may be considered distracting the server, and in club matches, this may seem amusing, however in tournament, this may be warned, or faulted if the behaviour is persistent.

    The other aspect of the situation you described is what happens when the server completes the service, but fluffs the serve and the shuttle lands in the net. But this is for another thread.
     
    #8 2wheels04, May 6, 2011
    Last edited: May 6, 2011
  9. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    if there is a fault before the shuttle hits the net, the whomever faulted loses the point. Not complicated at all.
     
  10. ikcud

    ikcud Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    does that means I'm not allowed to be on my toes while serving? I've been a few comp with no complaints so far...
     
  11. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,495
    Likes Received:
    257
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    that's fine... although it will cause you to be unsteady and not properly balanced to receive the 2nd shot, ie. the reply from the receiver
     
  12. ikcud

    ikcud Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I usually have a bad consistency when leaving my feet flat while serving some reason. I've done this to gain a few centimeters of height haha. I always split step to anticipate the next shot. I've never had the trouble of having to clear it.
     
  13. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    United States
    And to add to this, until the start of the racket's movement, you can still move around and lose balance. If there is no service delivered, there is no receiver fault which is what I found out this past weekend.
     

Share This Page