Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

how long can one take to serve?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by decoy, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,500
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    ^^ In that SF match vs Adcock/Bankier near match point? I think the umpire was fed up (as was I) with Ma's length of time taken to not only serve but also including her delay in hand signalling behind her back to her partner.
     
  2. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    United States
    Well, from looking at that part (and only that part) the receiver was not ready yet when she was brushing the shuttle and signaling to her partner.

    9.1 In a correct service,
    9.1.1 neither side shall cause undue delay to the delivery of the service once the server and the receiver are ready for the service. On completion of the backward movement of server’s racket head, any delay in the start of the service (Law 9.2), shall be considered to be an undue delay;

    As for the call itself; it's a judgemental call, and I only watched that part. The umpire has the best feel for the flow of the game.
     
  3. |_Footwork_|

    |_Footwork_| Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Smashikon, Driveland
    haven't watched the whole game, so can't tell if ma jin took too long during the match.

    but that last call is just ridiculous. in that situation she doesn't take a very long time, pretty standard serve imho...
     
  4. gundamzaku

    gundamzaku Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    working professional
    Location:
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    Lin Dan is a totally different beast, LOL
     
  5. gundamzaku

    gundamzaku Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    working professional
    Location:
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    i saw a mixed doubles game recently with Ma Jin and Ko Sun Hyun. it was funny cos Ma Jin would take her sweet time and Ko Sun Hyun the receiver almost faulted but he was experience in that he kept his feet planted and only bent the knees.
     
  6. gundamzaku

    gundamzaku Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    working professional
    Location:
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    shoot i laughed out loud.........at work!
     
  7. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    joachim seems to have removed the double action from his serve motion now
     
  8. gundamzaku

    gundamzaku Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    working professional
    Location:
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    i wonder if it actually helps him with his serve?
     
  9. extremenanopowe

    extremenanopowe Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    12,272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Chief Coach. Get only NCAP/NROC certified coach. C
    Location:
    SG. Go for NCAP-L2 certified coach.
    As long as it is within the rule. ;)
     

Share This Page