Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

In doubles, can you warn your partner the shuttle is going out?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by BernieR, Jun 28, 2013.

  1. BernieR

    BernieR Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    house
    A new player has joined one of my informal sessions, and he objects when his opponents warn each other about a shuttle going out, by shouting "out" or "no".

    So for example he plays a smash, the non-receiving opponent thinks the shuttle is going out, shouts "out" or "no", but the receiver hits it anyway. Our new friend was distracted by the shout, and left the shuttle, perhaps he thought it was his own partner who called "out". The shuttle lands in and our friend loses the point.

    Two questions: 1. are you allowed to shout "out" before the shuttle lands in your court, and 2. do high level players warn their partners in this way?
     
  2. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,948
    Likes Received:
    231
    Occupation:
    Cylon
    Location:
    BadmintonCentral
    Yes, you can warn your own partner.

    But whatever you do, you must not distract your opponents.
     
  3. |_Footwork_|

    |_Footwork_| Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Smashikon, Driveland
    this!

    it's absolutely ok to shout "out" to your partner. if your partner hits the shuttle (because he doesn't believe you or whatever), the rally continues.
     
  4. Line & Length

    Line & Length Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Not only is communication with your partner legal, the 3 main calls ("me", "you" & "no") are essential to good doubles.

    However, be sure to communicate after your opponent's shot and before your partner's. If you call significantly after your partner has already hit it, your opponents can claim that your call is distracting them.
     
  5. Cheung

    Cheung Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    16,326
    Likes Received:
    49
    Occupation:
    wannabe badminton phototaker
    Location:
    Outside the box
    You new friend let himself be unnecessarily distracted. This situation of one person calling it out and then the partner still hitting it happens all the time.

    1. Yes, call it out if it looks like it is going out.
    2. Yes.
     
  6. Thompson

    Thompson Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Supervisor Pharmaceutical Industry
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Good communication is essential in doubles. Even when you play a lot together you will always have moments you want to make sure your partner makes room for your smash (MINE) or to know for sure he won't hit back (OUT) or just to "push him" for the last bit of effort (GOGO)
     

Share This Page