Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

in service, the shuttle is hit by the receiver’s partner

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by pcll99, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,664
    Likes Received:
    160
    Occupation:
    Cylon Agent
    Location:
    HK
    13.1
    "It shall be a ‘fault’:
    13.1 if a service is not correct (Law 9.1);
    13.2 if, in service, the shuttle:
    13.2.1 is caught on the net and remains suspended on its top;
    13.2.2 after passing over the net, is caught in the net; or
    13.2.3 is hit by the receiver’s partner;"

    So according to 13.2.3, whose fault is it? the receiving or servicing party?
     
  2. krysser

    krysser Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    @Home
    It is the receiving part that has the fault and the point goes to the serving part.

    /Krysser
     
  3. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    That's an interesting point. The rules don't at any point say whose fault it is, just "it shall be a fault..."--we still need to use common sense to decide which side loses the point!
     
  4. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,412
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    i think it's quite obvious who is at fault

    also it is also a fault on the receiving side if the shuttle while during service hits the receiving partner's body

    this happened in the danish open md final 2-3? yrs ago with kkk/tbh vs. mogensen/boe when tbh's serve hit mogensen in the abd, but the umpire made the wrong call and called it a let!
     
    #4 visor, Feb 6, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2011
  5. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Yes, I agree that it's obvious. But often the rules spell out obvious things just to avoid any arguments. So I'm surprised that they left this one out.
     
  6. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,664
    Likes Received:
    160
    Occupation:
    Cylon Agent
    Location:
    HK
    what if the servicing party deliberately try to serve it on the receiver's partner???
     
  7. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,412
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Heheh you could try! It'll be up to the other side to get out of the way.
     
  8. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I guess you could try it but about the only time it might work is in mixed where the lady stands right at the front beside the man during his return of service.
     
  9. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I know someone who does this. He has a few other "dirty tricks" too. He's not very popular ;-)
     
  10. Andy05

    Andy05 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees, UK
    Somebody served and hit me, I wasn't recieving at the time and they tried to claim the point.
    I had just passed them the shuttle back and was walking to my position when they served, so I wasn't even facing the net at the time. They were actually serious about them winning the point too.
     
  11. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    10
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    They were actually serious about them winning the point too

    .
    My suggestion: Don't play with them anymore; if they are only interested to win and not to follow our Laws of Badminton. :p:p:p
    .
     
  12. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    11.2 Once the players have taken their positions, the first forward movement of the server's racket is the start of the service.
     
  13. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,412
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    They were correct on the first point, but the second, they were just being stupid.
     
  14. Matt

    Matt Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4,079
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    IT Developer
    Location:
    Richmond, BC
    Lol! Doesn’t count. I have seen some players do that (they are not good either) and do this and if that happens then do not hit it. Make them repeat the serve until they serve it properly when you are area. If they do that you can do it too but just exaggerate it to demonstrate their own medicine lol! j/k

    This happened to me too, and what I did these, it happened to be flick serves. It gotten to the point where if I knew this person was going to do that, I just jumped smashed instantly at the server and possibly hitting the player - sort of teach them a lesson for doing something like that.
     
  15. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,664
    Likes Received:
    160
    Occupation:
    Cylon Agent
    Location:
    HK
    thanks.... the rule says this

    "It shall be a ‘fault’ if, in service, the shuttle is hit by the receiver’s partner;"

    if the server deliberately try to serve the shuttle on the receiver's partner, then it is the shuttle which hit the receiver's partner, not the other way around. The shuttle is not hit by the receiver's partner. Rather it is the receiver's partner who is hit by the shuttle... isn't that right???
     
  16. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    10
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    After a Service is performed, the shuttlecock can only be played by the Receiver

    .
    To clear us out of this confusion, we can summarised it as;

    After a Service (the first shot of a rally) is performed, the shuttlecock can only be played by the 'Receiver of the Service'.

    Therefore, if the shuttlecock hits the partner of the 'Receiver of the Service', a fault would be called against the receiving side.

    The partner of the 'Receiver of the Service' should make sure that he/she does not play and/or be touched by the shuttlecock (before or at the second shot of a rally).

    Also, if the body of any player touching the shuttlecock once a rally has begun, that player would be faulted.
    .
     
    #16 chris-ccc, Feb 8, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2011
  17. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,412
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    ^^
    Very well summarized! :thumbsup:
     
  18. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,664
    Likes Received:
    160
    Occupation:
    Cylon Agent
    Location:
    HK
    thanks chris.....

    like alex, matt and andy, someone did that to me before... not once but twice... on both occasions, i succeeded in avoiding the shuttle...

    but i thought that server must have violated some rules... i guess he didn't.....
     

Share This Page