Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

In what circumstance can the player touch the net?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by idontknow017, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. idontknow017

    idontknow017 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    I have seen a few videos on YouTube where the player flicks the net whilst trying to lift the shuttle, although in this video it isn't a lift (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00EO-cBr6CU @ 5:22, this video doesn't have the best angle and there is a possibility that, in this case, the shuttle flicked the net, but I can't remember which matches has an obvious example that supports my question)
    The rules say it's a fault if the player "13.4.1 touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress;" so right now I'm extremely confused :confused:
    Can someone help me clear this up?
    Thanks :)
     
  2. Fidget

    Fidget Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,318
    Likes Received:
    54
    Occupation:
    something far too busy for my badminton needs
    Location:
    Canada
    The circumstances when you can hit the net with the racket are just a little further down in the rules, Section 15. You are forgiven for striking the net only if the shuttle is not really in play::)


    15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY A shuttle is not in play when:
    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;
    15.2 it hits the surface of the court; or
    15.3 a ‘fault’ or a ‘let’ has occurred.
     
  3. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    It's a fault if a player touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress

    .
    It means exactly that. It is a fault (if during a rally) if a player touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress.

    Click on this link;
    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/for...-Federation)-(Approved-at-BWF-AGM-15-May-2010)

    and read Post #32 onwards.
    .
     
  4. pBmMalaysia

    pBmMalaysia Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    badminton coach
    Location:
    Kuching, Malaysia, Malaysia
    to answer the threat starter question,

    the only answer i could come up is,

    you can touch the net or any part of it

    before the umpire say 'play' or announce the score:D
     
  5. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    A rally starts from the first swing of the racket to serve

    .
    :D:D:D You are only thinking about a tournament match where there is an umpire.

    However, a rally starts from the first swing of the racket to serve, not when the umpire says 'play'.
    .
     
  6. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  7. idontknow017

    idontknow017 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
  8. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    This example isn't clear enough to tell. You can see the net moving after the shot, so something hit the net, but it's not possible to be sure whether it was the racket or the shuttle. If it was the racket, then the umpire should have called a fault. If the shuttle, no fault.

    Can you find a better example to show us?
     
  9. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,280
    Likes Received:
    549
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    you cannot touch the net during the rally. the only thing that is allowed to touch the net is the shuttlecock!
     
  10. idontknow017

    idontknow017 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    I shall post when I come across one.
     
  11. 2wheels04

    2wheels04 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cal Central
    There is no prohibition of not touching the net. You may. It only becomes a fault when the umpire sees it during active play.

    During a rally, whenever a player touches the net and the umpire sees this activity, you can be assured a fault will be called.

    There are times when a player can touching the net without incurring the wrath of the law, as in:

    • shaking hands with the opponent, or officials
    • when passing the shuttle to the other side after a rally
    • to adjust a bump in the net tape
    • during shadow-play after missing a close kill
    Just remember, not to hammer the racket on the tape or the net, in frustration, anger, or even as a demonstration of "So I cannot touch it like this" kind. Such actions are not taken lightly by people in high places.
     
  12. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    !!!

    There's nothing wrong with breaking the rules. It's only wrong if you break the rules and get caught.
     
  13. 2wheels04

    2wheels04 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cal Central
    Even on court, during live action play, the net will move (or sway) when a player with a whip-lash action of racket lifts, flicks, or drives. As noted, sometimes the shuttle also brushes or hit the net before going to the other side of the net. Most lifts and flicks from anywhere between the service line and net will be result in net movement.

    Remember, as a player, you are taught to look at the shuttle until it hits the racket. The official does something very similar - they look at the racket until it hits the net. The umpire indeed has the best seat on court to observe the racket hitting the net during play.

    The other good perspective is net-tape cam and the over-head cam; they have to be high res and with super slo-mo capability to pick such a hit. The whip action (flick) is very high speed.
     
    #13 2wheels04, Jan 4, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2011
  14. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    It's just a simple rule

    .
    Don't know what/where you are leading us to... It's just a simple rule like what I have posted (in Post #3);

    .
     
    #14 chris-ccc, Jan 4, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2011
  15. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,948
    Likes Received:
    231
    Occupation:
    Cylon
    Location:
    BadmintonCentral
    Wa! this is good stuff. 15.1 answered a question I have had for a long time for a match Zhang/Zhao vs Tao/Tien in Japan Open 2010 on Sept 30...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0cR4trHVN6U

    the umpire's call at time 3:25 to 5:00 (of the youtube video) in retrospect was the right call and the correct application of rule 15.1
     
    #15 pcll99, Feb 6, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2011
  16. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,838
    Likes Received:
    336
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    To me the more important phrase is "on the striker's side" not "starts" as it emphasized that the shuttle has not crossed over the net.

    Indeed the umpire must be very alert on this point of touching the net with the racket. It is a matter of which event comes first. Whether your racket touches the net after a fault is called or before it.

    Example:

    You hit a hard smash near the net. Your opponent cannot return the shuttle which crashes to the ground. The umpire calls "fault" against the receiver. Then your racket hits the net after the fault is called. It comes later.

    Who will lose the point - you or your opponent? (See Fidget's post above)
     
    #16 Loh, Feb 6, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2011
  17. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,948
    Likes Received:
    231
    Occupation:
    Cylon
    Location:
    BadmintonCentral
    This discussion is very very interesting....

    So there are three events here:

    Event No.1: the birdie strikes the net
    Event No.2: the receiver touches the net
    Event No.3: the birdie starts to fall.

    In most cases, Event No. 2 will occur either before Event No. 1 or after Event no. 3....

    But what if Event No. 2 occur in between. What should be the correct call???

    See the youtube video again!! from 3:25 to 5:00..

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0cR4trHVN6U

    When do you think Event No.2 occur???
     
  18. pBmMalaysia

    pBmMalaysia Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    badminton coach
    Location:
    Kuching, Malaysia, Malaysia
    I lost the point because when I tapped the shuttle,

    I sent the umpire in his chair flying over to the next court :D
     
  19. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,948
    Likes Received:
    231
    Occupation:
    Cylon
    Location:
    BadmintonCentral
    As for your example, here goes.

    At the moment the birdie touches the ground, then according the 15.2, the game is no longer "in play". Therefore whether the receiver touches the net is irrelevant and 13.4.1 has no application. 13.4.1 says "it shall be a fault if, in play, a player touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress." In conclusion, since the striker touches the net after the birdie touches the ground, the strike wins the point.

    Btw, I do not think the timing of the umpire's call is relevant either. It is what the players and the shutters do which are relevant.
     
    #19 pcll99, Feb 6, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2011
  20. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,657
    Likes Received:
    288
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    ^^

    yes that is correct

    and quite often we don't have umpires sitting by the side to help us during recreational club play :)

    so the players have to know the rules and laws
     

Share This Page