Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

In what circumstance can the player touch the net?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by idontknow017, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. pBmMalaysia

    pBmMalaysia Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    badminton coach
    Location:
    Kuching, Malaysia, Malaysia
    By right, umpire has to say out loud 'fault', in this case when the bird touches the ground,

    just in case other thing happens almost at the same time :D

    Here is a real case, player tries to tap and instead of sending shuttle down he sent it straight to the baseline

    Hence the umpire shouted fault after his racket touches the net cord.

    Here, to the umpire he saw the racket head touches the net cord

    before he turn his head to see what happens to the shuttle...

    Naturally of course :D
     
  2. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,948
    Likes Received:
    231
    Occupation:
    Cylon
    Location:
    BadmintonCentral
    this is getting more and more interesting...

    Does the umpire has a obligation to call out loud a fault?? Or is it simply a right, not an obligation?

    Also should the umpire says whose fault?? Like during servicing... I notice this is the only time when umpire would call out loud a "receiver's fault call" or "service fault call"
     
    #22 pcll99, Feb 6, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2011
  3. pBmMalaysia

    pBmMalaysia Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    badminton coach
    Location:
    Kuching, Malaysia, Malaysia
    An obligation I am sure :)

    Well, certainly it's you having the fault if he is looking at you :D
     
  4. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,838
    Likes Received:
    336
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    Law 17.6

    17.6 An umpire shall:

    17.6.1 uphold and enforce the Laws of Badminton and, especially, call a ‘fault’ or a ‘let’ should either occur;

    17.6.2 give a decision on any appeal regarding a point of dispute, if made before the next service is delivered;

    17.6.3 ensure players and spectators are kept informed of the progress of the match;

    17.6.4 appoint or replace line judges or a service judge in consultation with the Referee;

    17.6.5 where another technical official is not appointed, arrange for that official’s duties to be carried out;

    17.6.6 where an appointed official is unsighted, carry out that official’s duties or play a ‘let’;

    17.6.7 record and report to the Referee all matters relating to Law 16; and

    17.6.8 refer to the Referee all unsatisfied appeals on questions of law only. (Such appeals must be made before the next service is delivered or, if at the end of the match, before the side that appeals has left the court.)

    Law 16 refers to "CONTINUOUS PLAY, MISCONDUCT & PENALTIES"

    That is why I said the sequence of events is important to the umpire. Which event comes first? The shuttle touches the ground or body of the receiver first or the contact with the racket or with the body of the striker? The umpire must call "FAULT" when it occurs so that the next fault that comes after e.g.hitting the net, will not count.

    During service it is the Service Judge who has to call out "FAULT" and in the absence of one, the umpire will do it.
     
  5. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,948
    Likes Received:
    231
    Occupation:
    Cylon
    Location:
    BadmintonCentral
    thanks... this discussion is very useful...

    17.6.8 is something I didn't know before..... appeal on question of law only!!!!
     
  6. pBmMalaysia

    pBmMalaysia Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    badminton coach
    Location:
    Kuching, Malaysia, Malaysia
    So be careful if you engage yourself with mr.loh in badminton,

    you may get away with the fact but not the law... :D
     
  7. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,838
    Likes Received:
    336
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    Wah I don't want to be chased out of the umpire's chair and booed "Referee Kayu"! :D:D
     
  8. kingofpain

    kingofpain Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Viet Nam
    Please help me out with my net kill, my racket often touches the net (so it is a fault, right ?), especially backhand net kill !
     
  9. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    During a rally, the net cannot be touched at all

    .
    During a rally (before the shuttlecock touches the floor, in or out), the net cannot be touched at all.
    .
     
  10. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,651
    Likes Received:
    287
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    If the shuttle is too close to the net, the only way to put the bird down without touching the net is to brush across the bird.
     
  11. Naim.F.C

    Naim.F.C Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Designer | Entrepreneur
    Location:
    London
    Is it also a fault if your racket goes over the net? I.e on to the side of the opponent, if even by a few inches?
     
  12. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,651
    Likes Received:
    287
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    iirc allowed only on follow thru after hitting the bird on your side, but not before

    Fault if:
    13.4.2 invades an opponent's court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker's side of the net;
     
    #32 visor, Apr 28, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2011
  13. Naim.F.C

    Naim.F.C Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Designer | Entrepreneur
    Location:
    London
    Thanks for clearing that up!
     

Share This Page