Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Is a let played when the shuttle hits the top of the net on serve?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Twaddy, Oct 19, 2008.

  1. Twaddy

    Twaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chester
    Hi

    I'm new to badminton and need a little advice on service rules please?

    As the title says, is a let played when the shuttle hits the top of the net on serve?

    If the shuttle hits the net and then lands in the receivers court is it legal or would a let be played?

    Also, if the shuttle hits the top of the net on serve and then lands short of the reveivers court, would this be a let or would this be a fault and the receiver would gain the point?

    Many thanks in advance for any advice

    Cheers

    Twaddy
     
  2. Swingbadabada

    Swingbadabada Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne,UK
    No let is played you win the point (server)
     
  3. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    No let in either case.

    If it lands in, the server wins. If it lands out, the server loses.
     
  4. Twaddy

    Twaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chester
    Thanks for your answers guys :)
     
  5. jhirata

    jhirata Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand, New Z
    Unlike table tennis, no let 'net' will be played.
     
  6. martin8768

    martin8768 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    sudent
    Location:
    ONTARIO,CANADA
    whats the rule on the feather getting stuck on the top during a serve? let? i forget rarely happens
     
  7. venkatesh

    venkatesh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    editor
    Location:
    manila
    no let here. the point goes to your opponent. first of all, the shuttle getting stuck on the net means that the shuttle have not gone over the net. besides, this rarely happens as the cork of the shuttle could not fit in the spaces ... unless you have a big whole in it. :)
     
  8. drifit

    drifit Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,580
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    PM
    Location:
    Selangor, Malaysia
    Gollum has explain it simple and accurate.

    stuck means the shuttle isnt over the net.... what let?
    goes under the white tape/under net.... what let?
    can i smash under or stuck, can call it a let...? :D

    keep on practicing serve over the net and touch a bit and land in. this is very very good serve, receiver will have trouble to return ..... ;)
     

Share This Page