Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Is it fault ?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by a_tabassum, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. a_tabassum

    a_tabassum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    work
    Location:
    milan
    Hi,
    can any one tel me please. player can change hand during the game ? i mean first shoot with right hand and the 2nd with left hand ? is it legal ?

    did someone professionaly show the play like that ?

    thanks for reply
     
  2. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I don't know of any professionals that do it but it's perfectly legal. I don't think that it's a good idea though. There was another thread on this somewhere as well, maybe a search will help you find it.
     
  3. a_tabassum

    a_tabassum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    work
    Location:
    milan
    thanks 4 reply , one my friend he play with both hands with great control, for me it's too much difficult to handle. that's y i asked here anyway thanks
     
  4. ALERIN

    ALERIN Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madrid
    Strange but 100% legal,
     
  5. nokh88

    nokh88 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,003
    Likes Received:
    192
    Occupation:
    Badminton Trainee
    Location:
    Badminton Academy
    Yeah, I too came across one player who uses his right hand and when the lift is high to the opposite right, he switched to his left hand to defend.
     
  6. Matt

    Matt Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4,079
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    IT Developer
    Location:
    Richmond, BC
    If he still has one racket, should be legal. Two for both handed... probabably not!

    Outside of that, I heard that a school kid was literally welding two rackets in school tournament play, one each hand and did ok. This individual was not called for it.
     
  7. weeyeh

    weeyeh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Nothing in the laws forbid that explicitly. There are many references to the singular "player's racket" but that can be taken to mean either of the rackets if the player wields two.

    The only problem as noted earlier in the forum is how that player's going to serve?
     
  8. teoky

    teoky Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Manager
    Location:
    Singapore
    He can always do high serve. Use one of the racquet to hold the shuttle on the strings, throw it up and then whack using the other racquet ! Wonder if it is legal ?

    I think if my opponent is using 2 racquets, it is so intimidating !
     
  9. nokh88

    nokh88 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,003
    Likes Received:
    192
    Occupation:
    Badminton Trainee
    Location:
    Badminton Academy
    Don't worry, he won't be able to move freely.
     
  10. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I don't think so, the rules say the first forward movement of the racket is the start of the serve and they must hit the base first. Does not specify which racket (as it's assumed there's only one).

    I think no tournament run by IBF rules would allow two rackets....
     
  11. orionoreo

    orionoreo Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver
    lol two racquets is definately a no but switching hand is totally fine
     
  12. GrayDark

    GrayDark Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Medical Transciptor
    Location:
    Chicago, Il
    Switching hands w a racket is absolutely legal. There's no rule against ambidextrous people playing the game.
     
  13. Tomsk

    Tomsk Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Anything in the rules that say the racquet has to be held in the hand? :D
     
  14. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Nope... feel free to play by holding it by your teeth or feet...
     
  15. matt30mb

    matt30mb Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    slovenia
    yes it is allowed - I know some very good players changing hands during play ...
     

Share This Page