Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Is the hook net drop shot legal?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by RobbieV, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. RobbieV

    RobbieV Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I tried searching the forums but i couldn't come up with anything to answer my query. I have asked many people and always get a mixed answer.

    Is the hook net drop shot legal? (it is a shot which mimics catching a birdie in flight, except instead of catching it you quickly scoop the birdie back over the net)

    Any comments on the legality? Thanks!:rolleyes:
     
  2. chickenpoodle

    chickenpoodle Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    naw, thats as illegal as jump smashing a serve.
     
  3. RobbieV

    RobbieV Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    why does one never see the professionals making these shots? or at least i've never seen lin dan make a hook shot...
     
  4. Hagane

    Hagane Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Transport Consultant
    Location:
    Melbourne
    LINK (PDF)

    Rule 13.6: if, in play, the shuttle:
    13.6.1 is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke;

    Note the wording says held on.

    So if your first contact with the shuttle is to hit it to the back (not to guide in like catching a shuttle), it's legal.

    However, these moves are often hard to judge.
     
  5. Adone

    Adone Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    California
    jump smashing a serve is illegal? o_O
     
  6. __Lam

    __Lam Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    if by scoop, you mean kinda catching it and flinging it over then yes, never heard of that shot btw.
     
  7. lorus_blue

    lorus_blue Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    you mean to say its a legal shot?
     
  8. Dummey

    Dummey Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    UCSD - La Jolla, California
    Err, I avoid confusion, I think we are talking about tumble netshots which are completely legal.
     
  9. adrian.sutikna

    adrian.sutikna Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Sales Engineer
    Location:
    Indonesia
    i dont really get what you mean by hook shot??
    can you describe more ??
     
  10. Dummey

    Dummey Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    UCSD - La Jolla, California
    I don't even see why anybody would do that, lol. The only time I see scooping is when you get the bird off the ground.
     
  11. PlayaFromMalaya

    PlayaFromMalaya Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Malaysia
    jump smashing a server is illegal???
     
  12. Dummey

    Dummey Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    UCSD - La Jolla, California
    No lol, i think it was meant as sarcasm. Or I am very confused lol.
     
  13. wilfredlgf

    wilfredlgf Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    8
    Occupation:
    Security Engineer
    Location:
    Malaysia
    It's against the spirit of sportsmanship, that. Likely to damage the racquet too.
     
  14. adrian.sutikna

    adrian.sutikna Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Sales Engineer
    Location:
    Indonesia
    if scooping the birdie...it's 100% illegal
     
  15. phaarix

    phaarix Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I think they meant the serve itself as a smash, not the return :).

    "A hook/scoop shot is as illegal as a 'smash serve'" I think they meant.
     
  16. RobbieV

    RobbieV Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    ohhhhh i get it now.
    So it is illegal? i know someone posted a rule, but it doesnt say whether the rule is saying it is legal or not.

    What i mean, is performing the same action to catch a birdie mid air, only instead of only just catching it, you scoop it like a catch and quickly drop it down over the net in one swift movement.
     
  17. RobbieV

    RobbieV Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    It is a good shot when used against incoming drop shots because you can precisly place the birdie to be sent over the net at a very steep drop angle, and close to the net. Also the deception involved with such a shot is high as well.
     
  18. Glencoclub-Nick

    Glencoclub-Nick Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Its definitely illegal...
     
  19. RobbieV

    RobbieV Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    dang... i was getting good at it too
     
  20. Adone

    Adone Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    California
    yeah that is very illegal. You cant hold the birdie on your racquet in the rally and/or drag it on the racquet.
     

Share This Page