Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

is this a fault?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by li00075, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. li00075

    li00075 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Is this considered a fault, the try to drop it over the net, it doesnt go over. but for some strange reason i went to hit it under the net.
     
  2. ryim_

    ryim_ Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Capital Market Research
    Location:
    Hong Kong SAR, China
    its been 5 minutes and i am still trying to understand what you're trying to say...maybe its my lack of comprehension lol
     
  3. li00075

    li00075 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    so what happened is they tried hit it over to us but doenst go over. While the birdie is still on their side, my racket touches it under the net before it hits the ground on their side of the court.
     
  4. keenweisam

    keenweisam Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oakleigh
    sounds to me like it should be a fault...? your racquet shouldn't be crossing the net in any case, over or under.
     
  5. ryim_

    ryim_ Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Capital Market Research
    Location:
    Hong Kong SAR, China
    This is not true. I believe your racket can go over to your opponent's court, so as long as the shuttle was hit on your side of the court and your racket does not hit any part of the net.
     
  6. Raymond Wong

    Raymond Wong Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    I work for RSL
    Location:
    Markham.
    it is a fault......................................................
     
  7. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    No it's not a fault.

    Just to clarify the over or under:

    It is a fault if a player

    13.4.2 invades an opponent’s court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker’s side of the net;

    13.4.3 invades an opponent’s court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted

    but you cannot have a fault if the shuttle is already out of play

    15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY

    A shuttle is not in play when:

    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;

    Therefore in this particular instance, because the shuttle hit the net and has already started to fall the shuttle is no longer in play and you cannot commit a fault.
     
  8. ryim_

    ryim_ Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Capital Market Research
    Location:
    Hong Kong SAR, China
    This is what I was thinking as well but was not 100% sure if a rule like this existed. Thanks druss!
     
  9. keenweisam

    keenweisam Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oakleigh
    i stand corrected!
     
  10. extremenanopowe

    extremenanopowe Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    12,272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Chief Coach. Get only NCAP/NROC certified coach. C
    Location:
    SG. Go for NCAP-L2 certified coach.
    cool............;)
     
  11. Tomsk

    Tomsk Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;

    If the attempted drop shot hits the net or post before you hit the shuttle, then it's not a fault, as the shuttle will have stopped being in play the moment it touched the net or post.

    If the attempted drop shot did not touch the net or post, then the shuttle is still in play until it hits the floor and you would have commited a fault by striking the shuttle.
     
  12. li00075

    li00075 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    the shuttle did not hit the net first
     
  13. matt30mb

    matt30mb Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    slovenia
    it is tricky question :

    1) if the shutlle was still in play, what means it has not touched the net before it started falling towards the floor, it is yr opponents point

    2) if the shuttle has first touched the net and then starts to fall towards the floor, it is yr point, as the shuttle was no longer in play
     

Share This Page