Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Is this allowed or against the rule?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by tlautlau, Sep 27, 2009.

  1. tlautlau

    tlautlau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Banking
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Hi all :)

    I understand the racket is not allowed to touch the net.

    Is it allowed for the racket to go over the net?

    2 scenarios:

    1.) If the opponent hits a very weak clear that goes to around the front of the net, am I allowed to swing the racket over the net and hit the shuttle?

    2.) After I do a "drop" and the shuttle is flying toward the opponent's court, am I allow to put my racket over the net and swinging it back and forth to distract the opponent, to make the opponent very uncomfortable to defend the drop? or even that can make the opponent scared to get to the shuttle?

    Is it legal in this 2 scenarios :p?
     
  2. Random-person1

    Random-person1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Canada
    i don't think so
     
  3. OHMAHGAWDZ

    OHMAHGAWDZ Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, Ontario, Canada
    no, and no
    15 chars
     
  4. canti

    canti Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Campbell, California, United S
    for the first one the shuttle has to have crossed the net so ur follow through can cross the net i think
     
  5. InDoDoNkZ

    InDoDoNkZ Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Biochemist
    Location:
    San Francisco
    1. As long as the shuttle is over the net & on your side of the court you can hit it. However the T joint of the racquet do not cross over. Anytime the T joint is over, it is illegal.

    2. Again, the same thing it is legal as long as the T joint is not over the net. But if you do this, and the shuttle hit your racquet before its over on your side..this will be a fault or illegal.
     
  6. Capnx

    Capnx Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    for scenario 1, you can only hit the shuttle on your side, but your follow through action can briefly cross the net as long as it does not hinder your opponent from playing the shuttle

    for scenario 2, the umpire may also give you a warning for unsportsmanship conduct, and if you do it again he may deduct points. in the case of a tournament match but the games are unofficiated (playing just by honours system), the opponent can object to your actions and request an unpire present to make an official ruling.
     
  7. gamepurpose

    gamepurpose Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    unemployeed
    Location:
    garden grove
    I suppose as long as the bird is in play, your racquet are not allow to pass the net period.
     
  8. All But One

    All But One Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    England
  9. hiroisuke

    hiroisuke Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    California
    Just to clarify, it would be helpful if you could provide the passage explaining this rule about the T-joint. I haven't actually read about this rule before.
     
  10. Pisthetairos

    Pisthetairos Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    USA
    That would be because the T-joint is never mentioned in the Laws at all >.>

    There's a relatively new thread on these kind of questions already.

    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=75272

    Search button is your friend <.<

    The laws are an even better friend.

     
  11. hiroisuke

    hiroisuke Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    California

    Thanks. I figured they weren't and haven't seen them before, but I was too sleepy to put up a fight.
     
  12. InDoDoNkZ

    InDoDoNkZ Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Biochemist
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Ah I'm sorry for the confusion as I was told back when i was a kid by my uncle.
     
  13. Chee_Khang

    Chee_Khang Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Aus. Msia.
    "13.4.2 invades an opponent’s court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker’s side of the net;"

    I would like to ask how do you consider follow the shuttle over the net with the racket.

    Does that mean that the contact point of shuttle and racket is at my side of the court and then my racket can goes with the flight of the shuttle and cross the net??

    So does that mean, as long as the contact point of the shuttle and racket is at my side of the court, racket crossing the net is legal??

    Thanks..
     
  14. Pisthetairos

    Pisthetairos Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    USA
    Yes. That's exactly what they mean by on the striker's side of the net <.<
     
  15. blindfury

    blindfury Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    this thread needs some pictures!

    [​IMG]
     
  16. hiroisuke

    hiroisuke Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    California
    Your picture is great for the left side, but questionable for the right person. How far away is the right person away from the net?

    I still like the picture though.

    I would also like to point out that "gamepurpose" 's comment is not true.
     
  17. blindfury

    blindfury Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    lol stop picking bones man, i suppose the person on the right can block all he/she want, just not anywhere reasonable to block up the net, hence, if the stick man stands 5 feet away from the net, the player can go ahead and block, and that will look very stupid and pointless, but again, it will not be called by the umpire.
     
  18. blindfury

    blindfury Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    i just had to draw this........

    [​IMG]
     
  19. blindfury

    blindfury Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    in another event of standing not close enough for a net block which is not intrusive to the net, also non-threatening to the opponent, but it is LEGAL:

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page