Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Is this legal or not?

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by pwakankar, Dec 19, 2005.

  1. pwakankar

    pwakankar Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Rule Gurus please help.

    Here is the situation. I was playing MD. I played a cross court drop shot. My opponent dove to the floor. His racket was almost flat on the ground except the handle which was in his hand. His racket hand was also touching the floor. He hit the shuttle (almost scooped it) and by some miracle came over to the other side of the net.

    Mu partner was so shocked that the shuttle came over that he could not tap a simple kill. So we argued back and forth and since i was not sure what the rule was I ended up conceding the point.

    So I guess the question is this legal ?
     
  2. wood_22_chuck

    wood_22_chuck Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,214
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technologist
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Yes, it's legal, if the no part of the shuttle hit the floor first.

    -dave
     
  3. Tomsk

    Tomsk Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    If it was a clean hit from the strings or even off the frame then it's legal.
    These sorts of diving shots are my trademark :D
     
  4. jerby

    jerby Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,040
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    EU
    Q on the scoop.

    when is a hit considered a scoop?
     
  5. cooler

    cooler Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    22,050
    Likes Received:
    12
    Occupation:
    Surfing, reading fan mails:D, Dilithium Crystal hu
    Location:
    Basement Boiler Room
    when shuttle wasnt bounce off the racket and the racket wasnt swung in one continuous motion.

    that dig shot example u gave sounds legit to me
     
  6. pwakankar

    pwakankar Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI

    Cooler,

    Even if the motion of the racket is not continuous (like you mention in the definition of a scoop), is it still legal?

    I don't remember all the details of what happened but it looked like, my opponent dove to the floor, somehow managed to stretch his hand and racket to get to the shuttle while lying flat on the floor with his hand and racket stretched. Then he made a jerky (not one continuous swing) motion of the racket and the shuttle ended up over the net.

    Thanks.
     
  7. wood_22_chuck

    wood_22_chuck Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,214
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technologist
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Ha-ha. Let me give you the answer you're looking for:

    You're right, it's illegal. There, you happy now?

    However, if you're basing it on the official rulebooks, it's remains legal.

    -dave
     
  8. pwakankar

    pwakankar Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Dave:

    I am not looking for a validation that I am correct. As I said, I conceded the point and at this point it is academic whether we won the point or not. I just wanted to understand the rule.

    The reason for my second post was the point that cooler had brought up about "continuous racket motion" and I had left out that detail from my first post.

    I accept that it was a valid shot and we lost that point. Peace?? :)
     
  9. wood_22_chuck

    wood_22_chuck Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,214
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technologist
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  10. silentheart

    silentheart Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,366
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    I think most of people know an illegal scoop/carry when they see one. My personal feeling on this is as long as it is not an intensional sccop/carry, it is a legal shot. Here is the rule stating a fault.

    15.8 If, in play, the shuttle:

    15.8.1 Be caught and held on the racket and slung during the execution of a stroke;

    Merry Christmas to Cooler (or colder in Calgory) and everyone.
     
  11. event

    event Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Korea
    Just further to what silentheart pointed out, the only way I can imagine the shot you describe being illegal would be if he had dived, the shuttle had hit his strings and somehow bounced or otherwise stayed on the racquet and then your opponent lifted the racquet to sling it over the net. Even if it weren't intentional if he stabbed at the shuttle and made contact with it before it hit the ground and then lifted his racquet in a separate motion that also altered the direction of the shuttle, then it would have violated the rule that silentheart quoted.
     

Share This Page