Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Need a Ruling on Head Shot

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Danny Boy, Mar 3, 2007.

  1. Danny Boy

    Danny Boy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Management consultant
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I was playing a double game this morning and was close to the net against the opponent. We each were about 3-4 feet from the net. I smashed and the bird hit my opponent center on his forehead. The bird bounced straight back and hit the top of the net. The bird dropped straight down on our side and I wasn’t able to return. While everyone watching laughed, I was told we lost the point.

    I felt really sorry as the bird hit pretty hard on the opponent’s head. I wasn’t sure if the headshot (without the use of his racket) would count as a valid hit. I let them walked away with one point. Can someone clarify the badminton rules on this one? :confused: :confused: :confused:

    By the way we won the game at the end. :D

    Danny
     
  2. Ayame

    Ayame Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student, Martial Arts Instructor
    Location:
    CANADA
    I DON'T THINK THAT COUNTS AS A SHOT, BUT I MAY BE WRONG.:rolleyes:
     
  3. Tweak

    Tweak Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    I don't know the exact wording of the rules, but I'm pretty sure a shot can only be returned over the net with the racket, not any part of the body.
     
  4. ixiaohoui

    ixiaohoui Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    La Jolla
    Tweak is right, it is a fault if you hit the shuttle with any part of the body (including clothing) except for the racket. Therefore the point should have been awarded to you.
     
  5. Eurasian =--(O)

    Eurasian =--(O) Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    aujerbajan
    that is really funny. I've never seen that b4
     
  6. cooler

    cooler Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    22,050
    Likes Received:
    12
    Occupation:
    Surfing, reading fan mails:D, Dilithium Crystal hu
    Location:
    Basement Boiler Room
    rofl, that one should be caught in video.
    no, it's not soccer, u gotta score with your racket:)
     
  7. phaarix

    phaarix Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    LOL, I've heard and seen some funny stuff on this forum lately. That's gotta be the funniest :D! Must have hit him quite hard to bounce back! Was nice of you to give them the point though. I guess if the game wasn't too serious it's best you didn't argue against it :).
     
  8. Shifty

    Shifty Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    New Zealand
    haha, lmao, that's pretty funny thing to happen
     
  9. silentheart

    silentheart Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,366
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Even it is illegal, I will give him/her the point if the shot hit right between the eyes.
     
  10. Danny Boy

    Danny Boy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Management consultant
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I must say that was a very hard hit to have the bird bounced 3-4 feet. Lucky that didn’t hit him in the eye.

    That ought to teach you a lesson to wear safety goggles during your games.

    Cheers!
     
  11. t3tsubo

    t3tsubo Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Edmonton AB, Canada
    i have another question a bit similar to this. it doesnt really deserve its own thread

    if the bird hits the post (the thing holding up the net) at an angle that it bouces and changes direction, then lands in (singles in, so it definetely woulve been out if it hadnt bounced) is it legal? would it qualify as a net roll?
    i was laughing pretty hard, and i just gave them the point.
    clarification plz?
     
  12. westwood_13

    westwood_13 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    I've seen it happen once. Well, no, I didn't see it happen. Because it was my head. They awarded us the point out of pity, since it wasn't a real match.

    And if it hits the post, it's out of bounds.
     
  13. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    which law is that?
     
  14. DivingBirdie

    DivingBirdie Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Singapore
    your friend's head must be rather bouncy
     
  15. wood_22_chuck

    wood_22_chuck Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,214
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technologist
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    your friend's head must have the equivalent string tension (head tension? stress?) of 18 lbs.

    -dave
     
  16. guitar_pic

    guitar_pic Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    MIS Sales Consultant
    Location:
    Richmond BC
    Ouch

    On the forehead is a fault for sure, but if you hit him on the nose and that happened......then you should ask for bonus points :D .
     
  17. mettayogi

    mettayogi Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF bay area
    13. FAULTS
    It shall be a fault
    13.3 if in play, the shuttle
    13.3.6
    touches any other object or person outside the court;

     
  18. t3tsubo

    t3tsubo Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Edmonton AB, Canada
    so if the bird hit the part of the NET (not the post) which is singles line 'out', but then tumbles 'singles line' in, it would be a fault? -hypothetical-
     
  19. DarrenHart

    DarrenHart Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Location:
    Dunedin
    in i would think
     
  20. mettayogi

    mettayogi Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF bay area
    1.4 The posts or its supports shall not extend into the court
    thus the post is considered outside the court. There is no such statement on the net, so I think it's 'in'. But I could be wrong on this.
     

Share This Page