Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Net question

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Sid8800, Aug 4, 2011.

  1. Sid8800

    Sid8800 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    I've just finished a casual game with my friend and there was a disputed point I wonder if anyone could help us with. My friend hit a low shot (from my drop shot) that hit the net about 5-6 inches from the top i.e. in the mesh, the shuttle then kind of got caught in the mesh but as the net swinged back round it came loose and popped over the net and landed on my side.

    I said it's my point as it's only allowed to hit the net if it hits the white thick band. He said it's his as it went over the net?

    Who's right?
     
  2. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,266
    Likes Received:
    530
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    your friend is right. it doesn't matter where it hits the net. as long as it goes over to your end, you need to hit it.
     
  3. Sid8800

    Sid8800 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Thanks for the reply - even if it wasn't the one I was hoping for!
     

Share This Page