Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Net question

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Optimal, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. Optimal

    Optimal Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Self employed
    Location:
    North London
    Two questions,

    We have a player who dives for the net quite often and both of these occasions have happened.

    1.
    If you take a shot from your opponent then a part of your body enter the oppositions side from underneath the net with out touching the net is this a fault.

    2.
    Also, if you do this and touch a part of the opponent body.

    Pretty sure the second is not allowed, not sure about the first.

    Mark
     
  2. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Rule 13.4.3:
    So in case 1, if there is no obstruction or distraction then it's not a fault. Case 2 is almost certainly distracting, therefore a fault.
     
  3. Optimal

    Optimal Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Self employed
    Location:
    North London
    Thanks for the reply Alex,

    So in a tournament its the umpires decision to uphold this.

    Who's decision is it if there is no umpire, your opponent?

    If you was playing someone who was a bit of a 'player's worth' a tip toe past the net could cost you a point?

    Mark
     
  4. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    when it is just player v player, then all eyes are on the shuttle and they wont notice where your toes are!

    and oppo cant 'take' a point for something like that in reality - you have to agree to it, otherwise you argue + play let. Or wait for referee... and play let.
     
    #4 amleto, Nov 20, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2012

Share This Page