Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Official Rules

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Elixau, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Does anyone know where I could find the Official badminton rules?
    Thanks! :D
     
  2. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
  3. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I did a really brief search on the Forums, but I couldn't find anything. Anyways, thanks :)
     
  4. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    no problem, yup there there alright dont think you would have a badminton forum and not have the rules anywhere.
     
  5. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Haha xP
    One question, I was a little too lazy to browse through the rules.
    Is holding both hands onto the racket and hitting the birdie an illegal move?
     
  6. Azwok

    Azwok Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    UK, Surrey
    Nah man, you can use two hands to hit a shot if thats what you mean.
     
  7. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    you are allowed to use two hands to hit a shot, you can also hit a shot off your grip and if it goes over its still legal and all. but why would you want to hit a shot with 2 hands in an actual game?
     
  8. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    arent the rules out of date now?
     
  9. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
  10. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't know why you would want to hit a shot with 2 hands, but... Yeah xP
    It was just a random thought that came into my mind xD
    I have another question which I don't get...
    So you switch ends after the first and second game.
    The third game... You switch when... You score 11 points. Like... 11:0? Or 11:anything?
     
    #10 Elixau, Feb 27, 2008
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2008
  11. bchaiyow

    bchaiyow Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    You switch whenever the score is 11-whatever

    bchaiyow
     
  12. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I see :D Thanks =D
    Is that rule for Singles? Doubles? Mixed Doubles? Or all?
     
  13. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    for all events, 1st one to 11 in the 3rd game you switch sides
     
  14. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I see! What if we forget? Can we switch right after our game?
     
  15. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    its not uncommon to forget to switch usually its that if you forget at 11 in the 3rd to switch you dont really tend to switch then since it would be a distrubiance to the game and and all that, you usually just continue to play and finish the game on the sides you were on.
     
  16. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I see.
    ANOTHER QUESTION! Haha xD
    It's a backhand serving question. Does the racket have to be below your waist? Or could it be anywhere?
     
  17. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    it has to make contact below your waist and the racqiuet head has to be below your wrist etc
     
  18. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Okay, thanks! Haha xD
    We should make this thread the "rule thread," where people could ask questions about rules and get answers! Lol xD
     
  19. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Another question, haha xD
    Touching the net = Lost already right?
    So if you touch the net by accident, your opponent gets a point?
     
  20. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    if you touch the net before the shuttle touches the ground then you lose the point automatically, but if you touch the net after the shuttle touches the ground then you get the point provided you didnt touch it before the shuttle struck the ground.
     

Share This Page