Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Official Rules

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Elixau, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    ANOTHER question, yes, I have lots of questions xD Haha.
    Um, how do you signal to your opponent that your not ready? Do you raise your hand? If they serve, do they reserve?
    And how does "let" work?
     
  2. Kevindoui

    Kevindoui Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Support clerk
    Location:
    Canada
    Ya, you might have seen some ppl do this, they look down and raise their hands. but if they do serve, and your not ready, dont touch the shuttle cuz if you do thats a sign that you were ready (even though you werent)
     
  3. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    to signify your not ready i keep my head down and put my hand up that seems to be the general consenses but be aware that they might serve as soon as you stick your head up which could work to your disadvantage.

    if they serve when your not ready then you say so but you have to actually be not ready and it has to show and they will reserve it.

    you play a "let" when another shuttle lands on your court you have to call it though, when you strike the shuttle it hits the net rolls over but gets caught on you ropponents side before they have a chance to hit it, or when another player comes onto your court in the middle of a match. during those situations you play a let which means that the person who served to start the point will serve it again as he did before. There are other circumstances too but those are stated in the rules.
     
  4. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Not any more. The racquet head only has to be pointing downwards under the new laws. The shuttle has to be below your waist at the time of contact.
     
  5. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    ah right they did change that part.
     
  6. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Some more questions, haha xD
    Can my racket go over the net?
    In doubles, the partner who isn't serving, can he/she stand in between the court?
    And... Can we be out of the court?
     
  7. NoName1225

    NoName1225 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco/Davis California
    can you use 2 rackets at the same time, one in each hand? Or can you switch arms in the middle of the game, like you are playing with your left, and then you do some prince of tennis drama move and you toss the racket to your right arm and play with your right arm?
     
  8. Azwok

    Azwok Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    UK, Surrey
    Last I checked there was also a rule saying that if the shuttle had hit the net and had clearly started to fall back down the net on your opponents side then that was the end of the point and so you would be able to touch the net before the shuttle hit the ground, last I checked anyway.:)
     
  9. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    your racquet can only go over the net when you follow through but you have to have made contact with the shuttle on you rside of the net first else its a fault and you lose the point.

    the person who is not serving is allowed to stand anywhere on the court they can straddle the center line of they want but they cannot obstruct the view of the shuttle from the opponents.

    be out of the court well yes you can but obviously the has problems, if you dive for a shot and roll off the court then yeah nothing against that but then if its singles then the court is open and you have to recover fast if its doubles your partner would be there to cover it.
     
  10. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    i havnt heard about that one before, sounds a lil weird that if you net roll it and its going down then the rally is over since it is possible for you opponent to get it back.
     
  11. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    you cant use 2 racquets at the same time, you can however switch arms theres no rule about switching the racquet between your hands in a match wheather its benifical to you though well that all depends on how good both your hands are.
     
  12. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    So, I have to hit the birdie before passing the net right? :D
     
  13. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    you have to make contact with the shuttle on your side of the net, then your racquet can brifley follow through over the net.
     
  14. Azwok

    Azwok Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    UK, Surrey
    This is the one I was talking about:

    15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY

    A shuttle is not in play when:

    15.2 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;
     
  15. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    that makes sense then, from what you wrote earlier it confused me cause it didnt state that your opponent struck the shuttle last sounded like it was the other player that sruck it. Just a confusion with what you wrote earlier.
     
  16. Azwok

    Azwok Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    UK, Surrey
    Yea I just re-read my earlier post, that was a bit of a confusing one hehe:p
     
  17. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I have a question about "lets" again, haha xD
    When should you call let? Would you still be able to call it after... A few seconds to your advantage?
     
  18. jchan04

    jchan04 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    as soon as there something wrong you to call a let
    for example, if you werent ready but they served it to you and the service was either short or long, you should be honest enough to call it a let. tho sometimes i like to take that advantage. if another shuttle lands inside your court immediately a let should be. even if your shot was a winning point. because it might have distracted the players.
     
  19. Elixau

    Elixau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Another question xD
    If a shuttle, string, or racket breaks then it's a re-serve right?
     
  20. Oldhand

    Oldhand Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,541
    Likes Received:
    120
    Occupation:
    Broadcast Systems Integration
    Location:
    Asia
    Not if your racquet or its string breaks ;)
     

Share This Page