Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

pls explain how it works

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by icecoldcoke, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. icecoldcoke

    icecoldcoke Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melaka
    In doubles,i'm still confused about who's serving after wining or losing the score:crying:please help!
     
  2. dontmakeme

    dontmakeme Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    vancouver,BC
    Service is given to the side that wins a point.
    So if I or my partner loses a point then the other side gets to serve. But if we score a point then my side gets to serve.
    The person who serves depend whether the point is even or odd.
    If the point is an even number(ex.0,2,4,6...) then the person on the right of the serving side serves.
    Now, if the score is an odd number(ex.1,3,5,7..) then the person on the left of the serving side serves.

    Example if you just got a point and your score is 2 then the person on the right of YOUR side serves. However if they just scored a point and their score is now 2 then the person on the right of THEIR side serves.
     
  3. Gicutzu

    Gicutzu Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Romanian in Austria
    The more confusing question is who is supposed to receive the serve.
     
  4. icecoldcoke

    icecoldcoke Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melaka
    why do i see people changing places to serve? like left go to right to serve etc.
     
  5. Gicutzu

    Gicutzu Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Romanian in Austria
    Because it doesn't have anything to do with where you're standing, it has to do with who has served last or something like that.
     
  6. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Just a quick summery of movement for service and receiving.

    At the start of the match you choose a side (left or right). You stay on that side for both serving and receiving until your team wins the point ON YOUR OWN SERVE. If you win a point on their serve you do not move. Service is made based on the score. Even = right, Odd = left.

    Any questions?
     
  7. Gicutzu

    Gicutzu Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Romanian in Austria
    Let's say I just served and we lost the point. Then the opponents serve and they lose the point.

    Next up to serve would be my partner, right?

    Other than that, it was a good and concise explanation.
     
  8. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yes, because your point just went from odd to even or even to odd with the 1 point you just got.... (That was the last thing I wrote) and since you didn't win a point on your own serve you won't have rotated.
     
  9. Gicutzu

    Gicutzu Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Romanian in Austria
    Yeah, you're right, I got it now. Thanks a heap!
     
  10. icecoldcoke

    icecoldcoke Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melaka
    ok i think i understand a little already..
    question:if i'm on the right, i serve and win the first score(1-0) should i move to the left and serve or give my partner to serve?
    2.so if my partner serve and lose the score itz my turn to serve if we win right?
     
  11. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    You move left and serve again. As stated "You stay on that side for both serving and receiving until your team wins the point ON YOUR OWN SERVE." Maybe I should have been more clear there. When you win a point, whoever was serving keeps serving until you lose a point and just keeps alternating the sides he serves from.

    Yes... an example. Your partner serves from the right side and the score is 2-2, you lose the point and now it's 2-3 and they serve from the left court (odd = left), now you win the point and the score is 3-3 so now you serve from the LEFT SIDE since that's the side you've always been on.

    So to add on to what I had before....

    At the start of the match you choose a side (left or right). You stay on that side for both serving and receiving until your team wins the point ON YOUR OWN SERVE. If the server wins a point, that team rotates (the receiving team does not) and the server will continue to serve (and rotate) until they lose the point (they then stay in the last position he served from until you win a point on your own serve again). If you win a point on their serve you do not move. Service is made based on the score. Even = right, Odd = left.
     
  12. icecoldcoke

    icecoldcoke Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melaka
    thanks! sorry for confusing u..
     
  13. khmaiboi92

    khmaiboi92 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Full Time Student
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    i was wondering, my teacher at my school says that both partner gets a chance at serving before you give the birdie to the other team. What she said confused me. Can someone clarify for me?
     
  14. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    If you are still playing by the old 15 point system then yes, that's true. IBF switched this years back to a 21 point rally point system in order to speed up games.

    Now you only serve once per side and all rally's are worth a point.

    Just as a note, in the 15 point system you could only score a point on your own serve and the team to serve first only got 1 serve.

    http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/
     
    #14 druss, Mar 18, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
  15. khmaiboi92

    khmaiboi92 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Full Time Student
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    Oh, I see now. So my teacher is teaching us the old rules :|
     
  16. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    If you play to 15 and what you say about the serve is tru then yes.
     
  17. Tomsk

    Tomsk Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    I did this to help our club members when we switched.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. dontmakeme

    dontmakeme Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    vancouver,BC
    great work lolz
     
  19. saneguy

    saneguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    This is really helpful and simplifies things a lot...thanks...
     

Share This Page