Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Point of Law

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by iain1953, May 15, 2009.

  1. iain1953

    iain1953 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Hi People

    Need some guidance on a point of law, as the following situation happened in a recent tournament.

    During a rally, the opposing side hits a shot at his apponent, this is in a doubles match BTW, the apponent then turns away as he is about to be hit by the shuttle, either in the face or body, the raquet is in the way of the shuttle, the opponent is not looking or may have their eyes closed, the shuttle then hits the raquet and is returned over the net, winning the point.

    Love to hear your thoughts and is it covered in the rules? I'll tell you what was called by the opposition, should i get any replies.

    :eek:)
     
  2. Nuetronist

    Nuetronist Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    I would say that would be a point for the return. Nothing illegal occurred, it was just a normal return...albeit it was accidental
     
  3. chichee

    chichee Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Teacher
    Location:
    London, England
    Agree! Nothing strange about that!

    Though I would suspect that from your post, the opposition called foul play?
     
  4. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,284
    Likes Received:
    551
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    the opponent can be on a tiptoe, then do a 180 flip followed by a somersaut and then hits the shuttle with the racket between its leg.

    as long as it is hit with the racket, it doesn't matter.
     

Share This Page