Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Points from faults

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Alex G, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. Alex G

    Alex G New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    This is quoted from Wikipedia

    A fault is called when the shuttlecock touches the ceiling, net, goes under the net, a player catches or touches the shuttle cock with anything other than the front face of the net, or if the shuttlecock goes outside the boundaries of either side of the court. The serving team loses the serving right and it is passed onto the opponent. No points are awarded to any team.

    So if I served and it hits the net, would my opponent get the point and serve or just the serve?

    Thanks
     
  2. phili

    phili Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    Oh wow this seems like the rules 30 years ago. If the shuttle hits the net it does not mean anything.
     
  3. Fidget

    Fidget Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    54
    Occupation:
    something far too busy for my badminton needs
    Location:
    Canada
    This is an example of how wikipedia is not a completely trustworthy source for badminton rules or anything else.
    Never trust it implicitly for information for your term papers; for answers to your medical problems; and never-ever as your sole instruction in preparing fugu. (trust youtube instead! -looks easy enough;))
     
  4. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    If the shuttle touches the top of the net and goes over, then you keep playing as if nothing happened. If it touches the net and doesn't go over then it's a fault: your opponent gets the point and the serve.

    A bit of googling will soon take you to the official rules of badminton on the BWF web site, where you can read the correct version of the rules.
     
  5. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    United States
    http://bwfbadminton.org/page.aspx?id=14914 Those are the basic scoring system rules.


    As for your question, if you served and it hits the net and still lands within the service boundary line, it still counts. If you hit the net and it stays there or rolls over and falls short of the service boundary line, it is now your opponent's serve and the score is 1-0.
     

Share This Page