Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Possible serve fault?!?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by gingerphil79, Jan 26, 2010.

  1. gingerphil79

    gingerphil79 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Sports massage therapist
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, UK
    My coach was telling me when some players serve, they will do the usual prep and get the birdie infront of the racket head but instead of serving, they will move both their arms from left to right or right to left (keeping the birdie infront of the racket head) so you are not sure if the birdie will be hit to the T or out wide and then they will serve

    Is this legal??
     
  2. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Yes, that is legal.

    Donna Kellogg serves like this (in international tournaments), and I've never seen her called for it.
     
  3. Cheung

    Cheung Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    16,251
    Likes Received:
    35
    Occupation:
    wannabe badminton phototaker
    Location:
    Outside the box
    Lars Paaske as well.
     
  4. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Ooh, thanks for that. I'll have to take a look -- it's always good to have more than one example. :)
     

Share This Page