Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Protecting the bird at the net.

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Qidong, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. Qidong

    Qidong Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    Waiting to be out-sourced
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Sorry if this question has been asked before. Watching WC 2005 from DVD, sometimes 2 players playing at the net. 1 player lifted it too high, and the other player got an easy kill. I was thinking if everytime right after the player lifts the bird, he/she raises the racquet up right behind the bird and facing the racquet to his opponent, even if the bird is too high, the other player's return will very likely be bounced back by the racquet. Is it legal?
     
  2. samtruong200

    samtruong200 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    hey where did u get the 2005 WC dvd? did u get off the internet or did u get it from a store?
     
  3. Qidong

    Qidong Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    Waiting to be out-sourced
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    www.badmintondvd.net
     
  4. wirre

    wirre Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Yes, this have been discussed several time before. It is a clear fault if you hold up your racket in a way that when your opponents follow thru goes over the net the rackets will clash. Also think that you are not allowed to simply "block" the shuttle back without making any movement of your racket. But the trick part is that the ref might not see that you are "only" blocking without actually doing any shot and the rackets might not clash because the opponents doesn't want to risk his/her racket. So the correct answer might be illegal but in practise the answer is probably "it depends".

    However if playing regulary against such opponents I'd like to use an old steel/alu racket to teach them a lesson:D

    /mats
     
  5. Qidong

    Qidong Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    Waiting to be out-sourced
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Thanks. Since it's illegal, that explained it. But I didn't know that block a bird is illegal neither. Many times, when my opponent hit a drop shot right in front of me, I just hold the racquet up and block the bird back across the net. :)
     
    #5 Qidong, Oct 3, 2005
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2005
  6. ribroy

    ribroy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    I can see that it is illegal to "balk" your opponent by putting your racquet in the way of their projected racquet smash path but not performing a block shot..

     
  7. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,379
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    It's legal, so long as you do not obstruct the opponent from making his stroke. Here is the relevant law:

    13. FAULTS

    It is a 'fault':

    13.4 if, in play, a player:

    13.4.4 obstructs an opponent, ie prevents an opponent from making a legal stroke where the shuttle is followed over the net​


    Note that there is no law against blocking. You must not obstruct your opponent's follow through, but otherwise you may hold your racket up to block.
     
  8. eskimojoe

    eskimojoe Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Would it be a fault if you smashed the shuttle at the net and your opponent blocked the shuttle and it touched you racket on their side of the net on your follow through
     
  9. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,379
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Yes. Not a very likely scenario, though. You would have withdrawn your racket before their response passed the net.
     

Share This Page